Block 441: May 22, 2014

IMG_6406

Three more weeks in Arkansas. Twenty more days until Pippin opens.

Date: May 22, 2014

Crane: 441

Days Spent on Project: 459

Location: Conway, Arkansas

Person I would have sent it to: When I worked at Colby College as a guest designer on that production of Life Is A Dream, I had the good fortune of meeting their costume shop manager. Her name was Christine N., and she was a powerhouse of costume construction.

When she and I first met that fall, she got really excited about the sketches. She wanted to help realize them. She was upfront, admitting that she didn’t necessarily have the skills to pattern the clothes I had drawn. But, I was young (well, seven years younger than I am now) and I believed I could draft the patterns for her. “No problem!”

We worked so incredibly hard on that show, and I really was proud of the work we did. I was to be in residency at the school for a few weeks towards the end (three weeks, maybe?). Once I arrived, we really dived into the work and made some magic happen.

And, you know, I’ve worked with a few different costume shops in undergrad settings now, and I’m starting to see a pattern with their costume shops. I’ve been very fortunate and haven’t had to work with a shop manager who didn’t love what they did, who didn’t want to make the best product possible. If they needed to stay late, they did. If they needed to come in on the weekend, they did. It’s awesome and amazing and makes you feel like you’re not in the process by yourself.

Yes, towards the end of the production period, you *are* exhausted and tired and you just want the show to end. But with a team of people working on the same project, it makes it better. Having a team around you makes things better.

Christine and I are friends on Facebook. I’m sure she still works at Colby, leading their costume shop. In the seven years since that show, the students have certainly turned over and changed, but hopefully Christine is still doing the good work.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got a 1950s playlist on this morning. Right now that means Chuck Berry, but before that was Ricky Nelson.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Remember The California Project? Well, yesterday, an interview that my creating partner and I  did with a reporter for an online LA theater site was published. It seems we did something right, huh?

So, that was pretty awesome. No, it was REALLY freaking awesome.

I really want to find a way to work on that project some more. Maybe that’s the next step after Arkansas. Maybe that will be something to focus on while I figure out a way to cross the bridge in front of me.

Anyway, here’s an article I saw on Facebook yesterday. Click here and read it.

It’s not me, but it’s certainly a lot of the same thoughts I’ve been having recently.

I’d really like to have a life right now. I feel like I’ve become so desperate, always hustling for work and jobs, that I’ve lost any outside perspective on who I am and what I want to do and how to live. I know we can’t have it all, but I’m tired of being without and not having access and barely making it.

This part rings true: “I had the idealistic idea that if the shows went well, if they kept getting better, that I would eventually make more money.”

And then this part: “I’m tired of constantly hustling, and working against the way that our economy functions. All the clichés: the definition of insanity, the law of diminishing returns; it just couldn’t get that much harder at this point in my career. I want to have children and I didn’t know how I could afford it. I would have to pay a babysitter more than I make an hour.”

I don’t want kids, but there you go.

Anyway, it’s not just me apparently.

 

Please leave a reply!

