Block 431: May 12, 2014

IMG_6337

Today is my last morning in LA. I’m actually really upset about this.

Date: May 12, 2014

Crane: 431

Days Spent on Project: 449

Location: West Hollywood, CA

Person I would have sent it to: Sharyon C.

During the summer of 2007, when I was designed three shows for Peninsula Players, I had the opportunity to work with Sharyon on the middle production- Little Shop of Horrors.

She was cast as one of the three Narrators/Chorus Girls. (For the life of me, I can’t remember which one.) I ended up dressing her in a pair of vintage denim capris and a plaid shirt for the book scenes. When the trio of girls would narrate through song, they were seen in a seemingly unending parade of fancier dresses. (I thought that idea was fun, and we kinda made it all look good, despite the amount of work that went into that.)

Sharyon was a fun energy to have at Pen Players. The three actresses they cast were actually very much appreciated as people and cast members while I was there.

Music I listened to while sewing: No music. I’m just listening to the birds chirp outside. I’m trying to soak all those ambient sounds in before I head to the airport in two hours.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Yeah, I’m heading to the LA airport in two hours. In a little over 4 hours, I’ll be flying across the country to the next stop on my long working vacation- Arkansas.

The last time I went to Arkansas for this upcoming production of Pippin, my flights were unfortunately all delayed and I ended up having to spend a day and a night in the Atlanta airport since there were no hotels to sleep in. It’s crazy to think that experience was now over four months ago; I can remember clearly how frustrating it was and how helpless I felt as I tried to sleep on a floor in the Atlanta Delta terminal.

It really is crazy to think how long ago, but also how recent, that was. I think I had just made my 300th Crane then.

And, really, I’m actually really upset about having to leave LA. I’ve been thinking about why I’m so unsettled by this.

This would be my 17th day here. Of those 17 days, I’ve not been alone for more than a few hours at a time. I was almost always with someone else. I worked on this round of The California Project with my partner-in-crime. I would eat dinners with him usually. I would meet up with the friend I’m staying with in LA on the weekends for evenings out. I tried to explore some “LA things” whenever I had the chance. I was around people.

In New York, I feel like there are days where the only conversations I have are between myself and my dog.

The weather here is glorious. New York, before I came here, was still bouncing back and forth between cold and gray to wet and gray. It was pouring rain when I left NYC. It had snowed the week prior. Here, it’s just been sunny… all the time… and blue skies… all the time.

I’m nervous about the upcoming project. I shouldn’t be any more specific about why I’m nervous, but know that I am.

I have just over four more weeks before I’m reunited with the dog, before Pippin opens, and before I can head back to NYC. I have a lot of thinking to do and a lot of big decisions to make. I feel like one decision has to be made before (and acted upon) by the end of May. That gives me 18 days, I think, to weigh the repercussions of that choice.

It will be big, sure, but with all the anxiety dreams I’ve been having for months, knowing how unsettled and unhappy I feel most days, and realizing that I feel somewhat RELIEVED and THANKFUL WHEN I THINK ABOUT MAKING THIS DECISION… it seems like it’s time to own up and make it.

Having very frequent dreams of losing my teeth in a variety of situations… it’s just time to say yes or no.

Okay, I get to pack my stuff back up. Here’s hoping my two flights go smoothly today!

One thought on “Block 431: May 12, 2014

  1. I’m a good listener….and if you ask any of my friends, i’m a good talker too! LOL but i can be a good listener. i feel bad that you have all this anxiety and stress going on…i can relate to some degree. my life has thrown me several curve balls the last 3-4 years. but overall, i try not to let that sort of stuff in and allow it to affect me or take control. sometimes you just can’t help it though, and those times, its nice to have someone to talk to, or vent to, or to just hang out with and sit quietly. and although your dog probably does a pretty amazing job at that for you….he’s limited, so another person can be a very welcomed thing. if you ever want to take me up on that offer, you know where to find me on Facebook. my number should be on my page as well or i can message it to ya. i’m available anytime, day or night, 24/7. i might not be coherent for a while if you wake me up, but give me a few minutes and i’ll come around and start making sense. LOL

    Try to relax and enjoy those last couple hours in LA and soak up all that sun! its been rainy for about the last 5 days here in NY, felt more like Seattle. But its sunny and gorgeous out today, and HOT! Safe travels!

Please leave a reply!

