Block 430: May 11, 2014

IMG_6334

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Date: May 11, 2014

Crane: 430

Days Spent on Project: 448

Location: West Hollywood, CA

Person I would have sent it to: Maggie C.

Maggie was an actor that I worked with at Peninsula Players. She was cast in the first two shows of the season there. When I worked with her, on the contemporary¬†farce set in a small “midwestern-ish city,” I learned so much!

So much.

So. Much.

Music I listened to while sewing: Birds outside! This is my last full day in LA, and I have to soak all of this up!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The California Project closed last night. We had about SIXTY people show up, which really exceeded the expectations we had going into the experience. We were hoping to get maybe 10 people to see it, thinking we’d have to drag them in with bribes.

So worthwhile. So rewarding.

My goals were met. Not only did I see where the holes were in the story we’ve been writing- where I need to be more specific, where I need to edit details out, where I need to rewrite or cut completely- I have so many ideas for the rest of it. I’m giving myself a two month deadline to overhaul the entire thing and flesh out plot points I have in my head.

I learned how complicated it is to stage something. How do you split your attention, when you’ve got 2 to 3 things happening at any one moment in a huge space? Working in this style is incredibly democratic; everyone has a voice in the process because one person CAN’T see it all, create it all, craft it all. (Yes, the director is the one with the unifying vision, but to rehearse effectively you need to have a team of people working with all the groups “acting” in any one moment!)

I learned I can do this. Just because my MFA says “Design” doesn’t mean I can’t “Direct.” A few of the actors even said it seemed like I had done this before. I should have more confidence in myself and my abilities.

I should believe in the ideas that I have.

I do want to keep working on this. I do believe there is interest out there in this “style.” One of the audience members actually worked at a large Research & Development department in LA, and she said many of her clients are asking these same types of questions: how do you make the audience an active-observer-participant rather than a passive-observer? How do you engage them without making them afraid of “interactive theater?”

I want to keep working, not only on this project, but in this style.

That’s what I want.

How do I do that?

Please leave a reply!

