Block 427: May 8, 2014

IMG_6311

Okay, Universe: I get it.

Date: May 8, 2014

Crane: 427

Days Spent on Project: 445

Location: West Hollywood, CA

Person I would have sent it to: Adam K.

That summer at Peninsula Players, in 2007, I quickly reconnected with a friend named Emme, whom I had taught at the National High School Institute summers before. She, in turn, introduced to me to one of her “new” friends, Adam K., who worked in the administration offices. Or maybe he worked in the box office.

Anyway, the two of them would provide a lot of entertainment over the next month and a half of work and shows in Wisonsin. They introduced me to the American version of the TV show Queer As Folk, in all its glory. They also introduced me to cheese curds (fried and fresh). It was Wisconsin, after all.

I’ve been thinking about Adam a lot recently. The last time I ran into him was probably for a coffee date in NYC… maybe three years ago. Situated in a loud Starbucks on Seventh Avenue, near Penn Station, he and I talked about his life POST theater. After Wisconsin, he moved to Boston where he landed a job in a reputable theater; to survive, to make ends meet, he still had to hold down at least one other job. He decided that theater was no longer allowing him to live the life he wanted. He couldn’t afford to be the person he waned to be.

And so he got another job, outside of theater. And he said he never really looked back.

I always thought that was incredibly brave.

But, truthfully, he seems so much happier now. And he seems like he’s enjoying life and the opportunities that are coming his way.

Which is awesome, you know?

Music I listened to while sewing: Just another morning of birds chirping outside the window.

Ahhhhh, LA…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I really don’t know what to say today.

I got a message yesterday that my landlords are trying to raise my rent for “capital improvements” (they replaced a boiler in the building before I moved in). So far, it’s an undetermined amount, but it could be as low as 30some dollars or over a hundred. I, personally and financially, can’t stomach that.

That, coupled with the realization that ALL the job leads I had this winter and spring, have all lead to nothing really have me wondering…

Is someone trying to tell me something?

Please leave a reply!

