Block 414: April 25, 2014

IMG_6155

Tomorrow, I’ll be in the air by this time.

So, I suppose this one is a little visually important.

#storytelling

Date: April 25, 2014

Crane: 414

Days Spent on Project: 432

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Let’s dedicate this one to Makaela P.

Makaela was the first directing student I worked with at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium, that first season I worked with them. She was directing her second year “Shakespeare Project,” Twelfth Night. She asked for it to be set in the 1930s- I forget if there was any real dramaturgical reason for that choice. I had a budget of $500 for everything, so it was also one of my first experiences groveling to find affordable period clothes. I remember, in the end, I was a quarter UNDER budget. I took that as a small victory.

MY second season with the BTRC, I designed her third year thesis project, The Marriage of Figaro. Me being me, and a little overambitious and also a little in love with the 18th Century, decided to make it more work than it should have been. I should have rented more of it, but I wanted the challenge of building some of the clothes and getting the silhouette “right.”

In the end, know that unless you have a full shop supporting you, do NOT attempt to build four 18th Century dresses in your apartment. Just don’t. Lesson learned.

Makaela was great to work with, however. I thought she created a good working and rehearsal environment, and got fun results out of the actors. After she graduated from the BTRC, she moved to Seattle, and is still taking theater by storm out there.

Music I listened to while sewing: In honor of Roundabout’s revival of the 1998 Revival of Cabaret, I’m listening to that original Revival from 1998.

I read the Times Review last night; while, I’d try to get myself in to see this production, I still wish I had seen the 1998 version.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So, there’s this…

“Remember what it is like to be immersed in water; to lie back slowly and put your head underwater in the bath. The muted sensation of being submerged in another medium, where the rules change because if you were to breathe as normal your lungs would fill with water; so you have to hold your breath, feeling the buoyancy of your body in this new realm, attending to every moment of what this new experience offers. At once being able to relax within that otherworldly feeling but always alert, ready to respond to your body’s eventual need for oxygen.

“Remember what it is like to jump in at the deep end, plummeting through air in a way that sends your stomach into your mouth, scary, exhilarating, reliance on the body to respond instinctively in order to do-as-needs-be-done.

“Remember tumbling under a crashing wave as a child, gasping for air as you emerge; scared, disheveled, overwhelmed by your unpreparedness for the event; keen to return to the thrill of it or unwilling to try again.

“Immersion in water can be a pleasant, powerful experience. It places us in a strange environment that can be comforting or potentially dangerous. It makes us aware – in the moment – of our body and its instinctive response to the medium.”

In less than 24 hours, I’ll be on a plane for Los Angeles. I’ll be there for 16 days, then I’ll fly to Arkansas for over four weeks. After that, I’ll be in Virginia, where I can finally be reconnected with my dog.

And hopefully, I’ll have a direction.

#Leap

 

3 thoughts on “Block 414: April 25, 2014

  1. Hello. I’m studying acting in an university of Chile. I’m making an investigation about immersive theatre. I need bibliography, but i don’t have enough money to buy machon´s immersive theatre book right now. For what you have wrote upside, I wonder if you have the book. It would be great if you could send me images of some pages of the book. I´m looking for the definition she makes of immersive theatre, specifically. I hope i’m not bothering you with this. This is my e-mail: pstingo@gmail.com. Thanks a lot!!

  2. I’ll miss you, even though you’ll be coming toward my coast. Hope all goes well. By the way, it rained in northern California last night, but the south is most likely dry! Bon voyage!!

Please leave a reply!

