Block 413: April 24, 2014

IMG_6151

Two more days in New York.

Crap.

Date: April 24, 2014

Crane: 413

Days Spent on Project: 431

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jessie D. J.

I’m continuing to go through the people I met while working at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium for one and a half seasons. Jessie was another one of the superstars in the costume shop at Trinity Rep in Providence. I only ever got to “hire” those ladies as extra stitchers on three productions- Hedda Gabler, MacBeth, and The Marriage of Figaro- because I was given an extra lump sum of cash to bring on extra labor. Those three productions were third-year directing students’ thesis productions; BTRC wanted to give the opportunity to have a more realized final play.

So, I would have worked with Jessie specifically on those three plays. But, she was always nice to run into. Again, super-driven and fun, the energy in the shop was always welcome and appreciated.

I had the chance last Fall to hire Jessie again when I was doing a show at Providence College. I needed wigs on all my actresses (it was a Victorian play) and I worked with a company in LA that would rent lace-front wigs to me for a very reasonable price. The only problem was (and remains) that I’m terrible with wig-prep and teaching people how to pin curl and pin a wig onto your hair. I put out a Facebook call for help, and Jessie responded. She really saved the day.

She’s now, also, pregnant with her first child. She has to be close to delivering, too, by now…

I wish her luck.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify suggested that I listen to a playlist called… well, it’s called something like “Your Favorite French Cafe.” So, I’ve got a lot of quirky, moody, artsy French music. And it’s kind of wonderful.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: What does having hope mean, really?

Two days until I’m actually in Los Angeles, and four days until the first day of a workshop with a small group of actors and designers that have signed on to help us figure out this project. I’m nervous and excited and already homesick a little bit (I really miss my dog!).

What does it mean to create something?

I’ve been working on this project for 10 months now; I started because it was an idea that turned on a certain part of my brain, and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I should be farther along in the process for having been thinking about it for ten months, but I actually feel like I’m in the right spot. Certain things are solid. Other things are vague. I want their to be room for growth, and the opportunity to jettison things that don’t work well.

But to what end? Why am I doing this? Will it ever move beyond this?

I need to remind myself that BECAUSE it’s something that got the “creative juices” flowing, and continues to do so, it’s something I should follow. Maybe this project isn’t the answer but maybe it will lead to something else. Maybe another opportunity will follow this.

After all, I get to go to LA and work with a group of people I didn’t know 10 months ago on an idea that started as a bunch of random “what if’s” written in an email to a friend.

There’s always a chance that ANYTHING will lead nowhere.

But, if you let that frighten you off, why bother with ANYTHING?

Opportunity.

Please leave a reply!

