Block 412: April 23, 2014

IMG_6146

Three more days in New York.

Eeeek!

Date: April 23, 2014

Crane: 412

Days Spent on Project: 430

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Rachel D.

My second year at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium, I only had to design two productions… The Marriage of Figaro (as an 18th Century Rock Opera) and The Learned Ladies (the whole cast was in dressed in drag). Marriage of Figaro was big, too too big; we ended up making some of the dresses. The Learned Ladies was much simpler, in modern dress, so it seemed more manageable.

Rachel was my assistant for those two shows that year. She had a great attitude towards it all. I loved her sense of humor and sarcasm throughout the process.

She also worked in the Trinity Rep Costume Shop during the day. I’m amazed that she (and Meagan from yesterday) held down both those jobs, in addition to also running wardrobe on MY shows with the BTRC and sometimes doing the same for Big Trinity across the street.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m back to Dragonette this morning. They’re peppy and fun and I need the motivation this morning.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It feels like time has sped up quite a bit this week. How is it already Wednesday?

I’ve got three more dresses to alter for the Rutgers Dance piece. Hopefully, that will take me two hours or so. I’d like to get to the gym. I need to do laundry tonight. I should finish buying fabric for Pippin; I’m down to choosing between chiffons for one dress, deciding between fabrics for an overskirt (chiffon or velvet… could my choices be any more different?), and then figuring out how much linen I need (and can afford). I still need to do some quick trips to stores to see if there’s any useful clothing to buy.

I have to remind myself that I’m actually ahead of the game, and not technically doing this last minute.

Anyway, time to get moving.

Time’s wasting.

 

Please leave a reply!

