Block 409: April 20, 2014

IMG_6131

Happy Easter, if you’re so inclined.

Date: April 20, 2014

Crane: 409

Days Spent on Project: 427

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: I think today’s Crane will go to Tristan J.

Facebook told me this week that Tristan and his wife just had their first child, a boy. That’s pretty awesome, isn’t it?

My first year at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium, Tristan was the set designer for the year. He and I had the chance to work on six shows together that year, ranging in styles and budgets, and I think he balanced the demands of the shows and the production demands. He assisted Eugene Lee a lot… being a set designer in Providence, I feel it would be hard not to meet Eugene Lee or be in his orbit.

He now lives in Los Angeles. I think his wife writes for television; they were dating when we worked together in Providence and had been for a while at that time.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Dragonette on again this morning. I didn’t feel like I gave them enough time yesterday because I am loving this discovery.

I’m a bit slow with pop music sometimes.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today is a sad day indeed. In a few hours, I’m going to be dropping off my adorable French Bulldog with my parents who will babysit him in Virginia for the next… SEVEN weeks!? That’s insane and crazy and depressing and a bit of a downer.

With the exception of leaving New York back in 2010 for a 5 week job in Toronto, we haven’t been apart that much! Even with tech rehearsals on smaller productions, I’ll usually have to board him for 6 days. It never gets easier, and it always feels a bit awkward and irresponsible.

It reminds me how much of a team we are. It reminds me how much I depend on him for social time (daily trips to the dog run) and even my identity (people know me as “The Dog’s Dad” in the neighborhood).

So, starting this afternoon, I’ll be flying solo and gearing up for a bit of an adventure.

Let’s just say the adventure starts this afternoon! This afternoon, I’ll get the next week to prep myself for a 16 day stay in LA, followed by a month in Arkansas! I’ll get to finish the Rutgers Dance costumes this week! I’ll get to shop and swatch for fabrics and materials for Pippin!

I’m actually very aware how much more productive I’ll be this week… without The Dog… trying to distract myself and keep my eyes on the adventure ahead.

Here we go!

Ciao.

(I miss my dog already.)

Please leave a reply!

