Block 404: April 15, 2014

IMG_6088

I buzzed off a good 2/3 of my hair last night.

Very Emo.

Date: April 15, 2014

Crane: 404

Days Spent on Project: 422

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Corinne M.

This is terrible. I know that I worked with Corinne during my second year at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium, but I can’t remember what she did exactly.

Was she the stage manager of a few of the shows? Maybe. I know I had to have worked with more than Kristen and Leann. (There was one stage manager whose name has certainly been forgotten. I’m almost positive he worked on the “drag” production of Learned Ladies… and he was a very masculine, former marine, which was an interesting combination!)

Anyway, I also think that Corinne was the props designer and manager my second year.

It’s very possible that Corinne was both a stage manager and a props designer. Titles and jobs and responsibilities were a little fluid at times during those years at the BTRC.

I did like working with Corinne. She was very pleasant and nice and CALM to work with. I do remember that. It was nice to have that energy around, since there was so much “testosterone” amongst the production team. It balanced it out.

Music I listened to while sewing: Bessie Smith! I’m continuing to listen to the beginnings of jazz as research for The California Project (11 days until I arrive in LA!?). I’m partly convinced the title of the show is a jazz lyric. I haven’t found it yet, but I know the working title I’ve been using for the better part of six months is a little cumbersome.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Unfortunately, I slept through my alarm this morning. And the missed time, albeit just 40 minutes, has put me in a little panic. It didn’t help that it was grey and drizzling outside at 8am, and that I had put The Dog in bed with me at some point during the night. The combination of the rain, the grey, and the purring French Bulldog curled up next to me wasn’t the best motivation.

I’m just starting to realize that in 11 days I won’t be in NYC for a spell. I’ll have 16 days in LA, followed by a month in Arkansas, before I’ll return…

Which means I have to finish the Rutgers piece in 10 days (should be no problem?), meet with the Pippin director at least once more, shop for any Pippin fabrics and clothes I can get here, go to a wedding this weekend, and then figure out what the heck is going on with my late summer and fall… and also this dance piece in New Jersey. I haven’t heard from them in a week… what does that mean?

Anyway, it reminds me of that graphic illustrating “The Creative Process” that floats around on Facebook frequently. On a color-coded timeline, there’s a long stretch of time dedicated to “Leave me alone,” followed by a section titled “PANIC,” which precedes the final stretch called, “Do all the work while crying.”

I hit the panic stage this morning.

Which is probably why I spent an hour buzzing my hair off last night. Really responsible of me, right?

Please leave a reply!

