Block 403: April 14, 2014

IMG_6071

TGI Monday!

Date: April 14, 2014

Crane: 403

Days Spent on Project: 421

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Kristen G.

Kristen was another one of the stage managers that I had the opportunity to work with during that first season at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium in Providence, RI. Whereas Leann (yesterday’s crane) was assigned the second-year directing student’s productions, Kristen was given the third-year student’s “thesis” projects.

So, that season, 2006-2007, she stage managed MacBeth and Hedda Gabler.

I know a year or two after that, she made the move to New York City, and worked with the Public. She still does; their current show, “The Library, is under her command.

Kristen, even though we were a small program in Providence at the time, she was always in control of the situation. Incredibly professional, you always knew the show would go on as it should.

Music I listened to while sewing: In honor of Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill opening on Broadway last night, I’m listening to Billie Holiday. Who wants to bet Audra McDonald will be nominated for another Tony this year?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I don’t know where this came from, but…

“Everything you’ve ever done, every person you’ve ever met, every experience you’ve ever had, is a part of who you are today, adding interesting layers to your being, and colorful depths to your soul. Everything needed to be as it was, so you could grow as you did and do.”

Pretty much sums up this project, doesn’t it?

I mean, we could question it: what if I had chosen THAT as opposed to this? What if I had said “yes” then instead of “no?” What if, what if, what if?

I supposed those questions don’t matter though; no matter what you choose or experience or do or who you meet always is a part of the formula that adds up to you. I’ve chosen a somewhat arbitrary number (1000) of people that I’d like to acknowledge as having an impact in my life. I may not be able to finish this project as I hope (one crane a day) because, well, what if I haven’t met numbers 785 through 1000?

I’m not looking for a way out, I swear.

But, I’ll acknowledge that 1000 is arbitrary and the goal “one a day” is random and possibly handicapping the project. We’ll see how long this project actually takes.

We’ll see how long the second part (putting the whole thing together and then actually QUILTING it) takes.

Life-long project, perhaps?

One thought on “Block 403: April 14, 2014

Please leave a reply!

