Block 402: April 13, 2014

IMG_6068

You know; sometimes New York City is the loneliest place.

Date: April 13, 2014

Crane: 402

Days Spent on Project: 420

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Leann H.

My first year at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium, Leann was the stage manager hired to work on the first production of the year. That production, one of my first as a Yale School of Drama graduate and as a “professional” costume designer, was an interesting experience. I learned a lot. I realized I was no longer in the sheltered world of grad school, for one.

Not that it was a bad experience; I think it turned out pretty well.

And Leann was in control of it all, for sure.

She’s still based in Rhode Island, but I think she’s going back to school this fall, at Emerson. If I remember that correctly, I’d wish her congratulations.

And this is funny… As I was writing this, I went to Facebook to see what’s been going on in Leann’s life. Facebook let me know it’s her birthday. Happy birthday, Leann.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I’m listening to an artist/group called “Library Tapes.” I would describe their music as “sad strings and pianos,” but that makes it sound bad.

It’s actually kinda nice.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Something about the amazing weather yesterday seemed to bring out everyone’s human side in New York yesterday. It was great. I’m so glad spring finally showed up.

I feel like I exist in a vacuum sometimes. I’m here, in my apartment, sewing cranes, drawing sketches for shows, walking my dog, going to the gym, writing a script for California, keeping my fingers crossed for greener pastures, and, well…

I’d like to be noticed. Or acknowledged. Just a tip of the hat, or something.

Hm.

Okay, I’m going to walk my dog.

 

Please leave a reply!

