Block 401: April 12, 2014

IMG_6066

It’s Saturday and I don’t know what to do with myself this weekend.

Date: April 12, 2014

Crane: 401

Days Spent on Project: 419

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Shawn T.

My first year at the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium, Shawn was… well, I think he was our Technical Director. I always get a little fuzzy on the exact jobs we all did; it seemed like everyone pitched in and worked their backsides off as productions approached technical rehearsals.

Hang lights? Help finish the set? Paint it? Work on Props? For some reason, I think Shawn did it all because he always seemed to be around and working. But, he also had a really amazing and calm attitude about it all.

Or maybe his job was just to hang out with us.

Nah, I think he was our official Technical Director.

Music I listened to while sewing: So, I’m still listening to all that dance music because… well, why not? It’s Saturday morning and I’m just gonna roll with it.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Again, another night where I woke up from dreams at 5am; this time, however, I managed to fall back asleep.

Last night’s dreams are a little foggy. They involved trapeze silhouette dresses made out of lace and appliqued flower trim cut from other lace. There was a lot of movement involved. Make of that what you will.

I was approached at the dog run by someone who knows that I design costumes for theater. She asked why I don’t start selling my sketches from shows. She had the whole idea worked out (good color copies, mounted on wholesale matting, put in plastic sleeves, etc…). Wouldn’t that be the dream? Just to sit down at a desk all day and draw and then have people buy my artwork?

Two weeks from today, I’ll be three hours into a six hour flight to LA. I can’t believe this is right around the corner. I feel like I’m about to embark on a little bit of an unknown journey here. I have no idea what the real destination is. I have no idea what the concrete goal is. It seems really irresponsible and a little scary, but if this is something I want to learn more about, why not jump at the opportunity?

Friends here know I’m heading out there to participate in a “workshop.” I haven’t really told them details. I want to, but I’m afraid they’ll roll their eyes and not care.

Also, one week from today, a cousin of mine will be getting married in New Jersey. Soon, I will be the only unmarried/un-partnered person in my entire family.

Good thing I have the best dog in the world!

Please leave a reply!

