Block 397: April 8, 2014

IMG_6037

There is nothing worse than a weak cup of coffee in the morning.

Well, the only thing that could be more disappointing is knowing you made the pot of coffee and have no one to blame but yourself.

#fail

Date: April 8, 2014

Crane: 397

Days Spent on Project: 415

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Amanda B.

I also met Amanda the weekend spent at Ming’s Clambake, right when I had graduated from the Yale School of Drama. She had just graduated from NYU, which made me think she was awesome. (I had applied to NYU to be a design student, but was quickly rejected by the department; Amanda would have been a classmate!) During that weekend, with Noah to my left, Amanda was to my right. I like to remember that we entertained each other in the downtime.

After that weekend, Amanda, Noah, and Chelsea (Noah’s wife) would share an apartment in Williamsburg. It was always a really cool place.

I think Amanda now works in film production, possibly in make-up and special effects. One movie that she was involved in was The Expendables, if I remember correctly.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, thanks to Spotify, I’ve been introduced to Francesco Rossi, which has actually been a great discovery this morning. I’m really enjoying “Paper Aeroplane.”

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: After starting yesterday with a most unfortunate experience of tossing and turning all night long, Monday wasn’t necessarily going to be a good day. But, I persevered; I went to New Jersey and met a dance company I’m supposed to design costumes for soon. I still don’t have the necessary details (is there a budget? will you pay me?), but it’s the start of a new relationship with a good group of dancers.

Came home, and managed to walk The Dog before it decided to start raining. That was a small victory.

Did some image research for the NJ dance group and also for the Rutgers dance concert.

Had a really great Skype meeting with about a dozen people in California about the upcoming California workshop. It was super productive, and I learned a lot about how to approach this. It will have to be a learning experience for all- these are super eager (which is awesome) undergraduate students- so I have a feeling there will be a lot of “leading” through the process. I might have to bump up my pre-workshop preparations. But that’s cool and exciting; I’m choosing to focus on what a great opportunity this is. There’s no real pressure to produce something “great.” It will be a part of a much larger process for myself; a single step in a new journey. I have to remind myself to focus on the opportunity. I have to remind myself that I get to do this. I’m lucky to have this chance.

And then, post-Skype meeting, when I tried to take my dog out for a walk (in the rain, so it wasn’t going to be productive for him), my dog and I got stuck in the elevator. For about 30 minutes. And I didn’t have my cell phone. So, imagine a half hour period of frantically banging on the doors, trying to get anyone’s attention and help me.

Eventually help came.

After that, I went to bed.

Here’s to a new day.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

