Block 393: April 4, 2014

IMG_6011

TGIF. It’s grey and overcast outside.

Yay for Spring.

Date: April 4, 2014

Crane: 393

Days Spent on Project: 411

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: John K.

On that first assistant job I held in New York, at the New York Theatre Workshop and working under Donna Z., we had the clothes built in two different shops. One, yesterday’s Crane John S., was located (and still is) in the Garment District on 39th Street. The other shop was owned and operated by John K.

I had obviously never worked there, being so fresh and green in the city, and neither had Donna. We were recommended to it by Jeffrey, NYTW’s Shop Manager. It was also a five minute walk away from the theater at the time, on Broadway, below 8th Street. I think, at the time, they had just moved into that space; now, eight years later, they’ve moved into a new space on 37th Street, which feels bigger.

I always liked the fittings at that shop on that project. There always seemed to be a lighter atmosphere in that shop. They once asked me, on a Friday late afternoon as I dropped off another round of fabric to be turned into menswear, to sit down for a spell and have some cake. It was a stitcher’s birthday, and why not celebrate with them? That was much appreciated.

In the time between then and now, I’ve only worked with them one other time, but I’ve visited their shop a few times with bids and other projects. They actually were the only shop that seemed interested in taking a recent production I designed seriously. I needed a budget estimate for a team of producers, even though the show probably won’t happen for a year or so. John didn’t seem to mind at all; he gave me his costs and I was extremely thankful.

Music I listened to while sewing: I watched the documentary “20 feet from Stardom” two nights ago, so I’m spending the morning listening to a playlist of ALL the music featured in the film. Thanks, Spotify!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: TGIF.

You know, here’s to hoping some really amazing news or fun times or exciting activities come up this weekend. Maybe it’ll be sunny for two days straight? Maybe I’ll win the lottery? Maybe a job offer?

Fingers crossed!

Please leave a reply!

