Block 382: March 24, 2014

IMG_5941

Onward! Upward! Forward!

Not Backward!

Date: March 24, 2014

Crane: 382

Days Spent on Project: 400 (Really?)

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Richard G.

Sigh.

SIGH.

In the three years that it takes to go to, experience, graduate, and then leave the Yale School of Drama, I never had the confidence or nerve to ask Richard out on a date.

In some ways, this is probably for the best. Asking out- and then hopefully dating- Richard, an acting student, would have broken my cardinal life rule at the time: “Don’t date actors.” Nothing against them (I like actors and have lots of actor friends!), but after dating Dave in Louisville and the sudden end that relationship had, I decided to stay away from them for a bit.

I first saw Richard on the first day of my YSD career, at the first year student orientation as we all sat in the Yale Rep theater. He sat across the aisle. He was wearing really great striped socks.

Sigh.

Moving on…

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify didn’t recommend anything that caught my interest this morning, so I’ve got The Drowned Man playlist on currently.

I still have until December to get myself to London and see that show.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Slept much better last night.

Today, I have to keep working on reaffirming something I should already know…

I’ve been doing this. I can do this. I want to do this. There’s no reason to think that I haven’t proven myself yet.

That I’m still here means I have proven my worth.

That I want to do this still means I have more worth to give.

Today, I will keep focusing on the things that are under my control. I can get myself to the gym. I can shape and edit and work on my portfolios to demonstrate my work. I can plan what to wear for the upcoming interview. I can practice what I want to say. I can research who I’m meeting.

Focus on what I can take care of…

… and hopefully let the rest fall into place.

Please leave a reply!

