Block 377: March 19, 2014

IMG_5914

 

Perhaps it’s the Venti Starbucks Coffee I practically inhaled this morning, but…

OhMyGodImSoNervousRightNowICantFocusOnAnythingAndIWantToHide.

Date: March 19, 2014

Crane: 377

Days Spent on Project: 395

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Kate McC.

Kate was another dramaturgy student at the Yale School of Drama; again in the year ahead of me, she was best friends with Rachel R., yesterday’s Crane. Again, I always remember having a good time with the two of them… for the longest time, when I first started Facebooking (years ago), one of my few profile pictures was from a 70s-themed Yale School of Drama. In the picture I’m dipping Kate, who’s wearing a early aught’s halter dress; she looks slightly terrified. Maybe it was the pale blue plaid polyester suit I was wearing.

Anyway, years after graduating, in late 2008, Kate called me and asked me to design a show she’d be directing at a college she was then teaching at. It was a small show, in a very small theater department, in what I would consider very rural upstate New York…

I ended up staying at a motel on a highway when I was there. The only food I could get was one local campus deli, who got very used to delivering salads, sandwiches, and pizza to my hotel room. (Glamorous.)

Kate asked to set the production in the 1940s, in a rural English town. I probably had the most money I’ve EVER had to personally work with on that show: 10 actors, some with two looks, and a budget of $4000 for everything. I felt rich. I actually rented good wigs, bought real vintage clothes, bought period appropriate underwear for the women (girdles!), and EVEN shoes.

You know, even though it was one of those “no one will probably see this because of where it’s at,” it was a show that I enjoyed working on. The sketches are good. The photos are good.

Kate is now out in LA. I’m not exactly what she does out west, but it’s still in the creative industry, it seems.

Music I listened to while sewing: Did you know that Kylie Minogue has a new album?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Ever since I started “doing this,” as in costume design and assisting and working in theater, I’ve done a fair amount of interviews and portfolio reviews and talks about my work.

In the past 24 hours, I’ve managed to land two different interviews with two different companies and I’m terrified.

Again, perhaps its the 20 ounces of coffee I’ve been drinking this morning, but knowing that an agent in LA contacted me and said she landed me a chance to interview with a production company in New York that’s looking for a new designer. I don’t know what I’m interviewing for specifically, but I have a vague idea…

And then a college calling me to schedule a campus visit next week, so I can meet the entire department, the costume shop, the Provost, teach a “mini class” on conceptualization, and then follow up with a portfolio review…

Throw on yesterday’s website launch for last fall’s web-series (click here!)…

On top of trying to learn and understand Viewpoints and scheduling meetings with directors this weekend to help me digest that concept for the University of California Irvine workshop (in 5 weeks?!), and being sent a proposed rehearsal schedule for it, but also realizing you need to bang out more of the writing soon, but also discovering that a few characters in the piece have new names (better names!) and clearer story lines…

Oh, and, yeah, Pippin’s still chugging along. I should work on that some more too.

(eek)

2 thoughts on “Block 377: March 19, 2014

  1. lovely crane this morning…

    and good news in those butterflies-in-your-stomach — sounds like you might have some awesome fun learning opportunities coming your way! 😀

Please leave a reply!

