Block 361: March 3, 2014

IMG_5853

 

“No matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid.”

-Lupita Nyong’o

Date: March 3, 2014

Crane: 361

Days Spent on Project: 379

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Deborah B.

Deborah also came to the Yale Costume Shop my third year at the Yale School of Drama. I can’t remember- was she an intern as well? She still works in the costume shop, as one of their first hands.

She must have, therefore, helped to make some of the clothes from the All’s Well that I designed there in 2006, although I can’t remember which dresses she worked on.

Back in 2008, I made a few trips up to New Haven to pull costumes for other shows I was designing at the time. Deborah was there, and we had a quick chance to talk and catch up. She was excited to hear that I was dating someone at the time. That’s something I vividly remember; her telling me that she was happy to hear I found someone who treated me nicely.

It sadly didn’t last.

Music I listened to while sewing: Beacon? Spotify suggested them, as usual.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The supposed anonymity of the Internet has made it too easy to be mean.

I wish there were a way to hold ourselves more accountable for our behavior, actions, and words here. I doubt there is and ever will be. Free Speech shouldn’t give us the right to be an a$$hole; you can say whatever you want, sure, just be able to take whatever comes back at you.

I’d like to put more good out into the world. I’d like to contribute something positive.

 

Please leave a reply!

