Block 355: February 25, 2014

IMG_5818

 

Boom.

Date: February 25, 2014

Crane: 355

Days Spent on Project: 374

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Linda W. (aka Polly S.)

Linda is one of those people that I believe is blessed. I tell her this frequently, although it’s more likely and possible that I think this often.

First of all, Linda is her real name; I believe her pseudonym “Polly” are from bygone days in roller-derby… Maybe?

She came to the Yale School of Drama back in 2009 (maybe?) as the school’s costume collection manager. (Back when *I* went to the YSD, all the costumes were stored in different locations, none of which were ideal for accessing and storing clothes: a warehouse that shared space with a tile company [so all the clothes were covered in dust- you had to have everything dry-cleaned before it could be tried on!], an attic space in the annex that wasn’t climate controlled and had a leaky roof, a basement space for the antique clothes that were smashed together and flooded one year and destroyed who knows how many vintage clothes, and then a little closet in the top floor of one theater where all the “good” stuff was.) The summer I graduated, the school finally secured a space in a convenient location that was climate controlled and secure and spacious enough so that things could be properly hung, boxed, sorted, etc. It was an amazing gift for the costume designers, and I’m still really thankful to have access to that stock to this day.

Linda took over for the person who started the position.

Linda is a genuine renaissance woman in that I think there’s no artistic endeavor she hasn’t tried, and I think she’s good at most all of it. She’s an illustrator, she builds and operates puppets, she has a side-gig as a Mermaid “Living Statue” that’s fairly popular at events, sells artwork on Etsy, she does that super intense workout (Px90?), and she also studies/practices how to be a Whirling Dervish. (In an example of being blessed, she was given a trip to Turkey to study and be made/accepted/ordained [what’s the right word?] by “real” Whirling Dervishes.)

I think she’s one of those special people who just lives life and does it well.

I wouldn’t be lying if I said that I hope to live life more like her, to have her attitude about it all.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify didn’t try very hard to tempt me with a new artist this morning, so I’m just going through my favorites. Right now, it’s Icona Pop’s “All Night.”

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I woke up this morning in a very good mood.

One might even call it an aggressively good mood.

I have no real reason to be happy. I didn’t sleep well. It’s cold outside again. In fact, you could say that a lot of things aren’t looking very good right now… but, whatever, things feel up this morning. Let’s focus on the positive today!

I would like this feeling to continue for a while.

Anyway, I guess I sometimes think that everyone in the world is just as confused as I am by life and work and money and what to do and how to live and what to think and how to feel. I think we’re all a little bewildered at times. And I think that’s actually comforting, instead of overwhelming; if most of us are trying to make do and be well and go forth as best we can, don’t we all have more in common than we realize?

Please leave a reply!

