Block 350: February 20, 2014

IMG_5750

 

I regained the momentum yesterday. I was up until 1am, my momentum was regained so well.

Date: February 20, 2014

Crane: 350

Days Spent on Project: 369

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: David B.

David is the sound professor that teaches in the design department at the Yale School of Drama. As a costume designer, I only had to take one class in sound design; it was my second year, and the group of us second years were lumped in with the first year sound design students. (We were working with a handicap, I guess.)

Sound Design, as designed discipline in theater, is one of the “newer” areas. Projection and video design is the newest, still finding its way into more productions and becoming something to study in graduate programs.

David, I thought, was great because he really strove to make the sound designers work together as a team. There were only three of them a year, and I was always amazed how their skills, talents, and mindsets balanced each other. I thought that was a really great way to assemble students together; if you were going to spend so many hours working and studying and practically living together, wouldn’t it help the process if the students could support each other?

David was always passionate about the work: both design and teaching.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Goldfrapp on this morning and it is glorious.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: “I’ve learned that the process of maturing as an artist working in the theater isn’t to be rushed. Things happen as they are meant to and try to enjoy each step of the process.”

Gregg Barnes, ladies and gentlemen.

He’s sure to get another Tony nomination for his work on Aladdin this year.

Patience.

Please leave a reply!

