Block 347: February 17, 2014

IMG_5712

 

“Nobody thinks it will work, do they?”

“No. You just described every great success story.”

Ladies, and Gentlemen, the movie Say Anything…

Date: February 17, 2014

Crane: 347

Days Spent on Project: 366

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Ilona S.

Ilona came to us, the students in the design department at the Yale School of Drama, my third and final year. The previous two year at school, there was some discontent amongst us about how busy our professors were (the gall, you know? we should all be so lucky…) and how many classes would be delayed or cancelled or taught by an assistant or a random visiting designer.

My third year, the department finally realized they it would be helpful to have a third costume design professor around for such circumstances. If Jane (Crane no. 276) or Jess (Crane no. 346) had to be elsewhere for a production, Ilona would be there to bridge the gap and the time. As a third year, we only had one required class: Master Class. (It was believed, correctly, with two productions to design and realize, on top of the arduous task of two fully fleshed out class projects and also a thesis project and then the Clambake at the end of the year, that we didn’t have time for more than one class. Crazy, right?) Ilona was there for everyone of our masterclasses, and as the newest professor on faculty, she caught up with our projects, our personalities, and our work rather quickly.

She always wore really great heels.

A few months ago, she asked how this project was going. She seemed to approve of it.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got an album called “Fabric of Life” on this morning. It’s by a group called Auditory Canvas, I think? I’m loving the first song, Lost and Found.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: There is so much going on in the world!

Trying to stay focused on the big picture and not get bogged down in the minutiae of reality…

Met with two guys who are producing another web-series yesterday. I was recommended by a production designer, which is flattering considering I’ve only done two web-series before. It’s another project with no money for budget or a fee; it seems that I have a reputation for working with nothing. (I hope there will come a day when it isn’t assumed that my work is pro bono. Can you imagine how awesome it would be to assume and KNOW that you’re gonna get paid, period?) After talking with them for an hour, the project sounds like an interesting challenge, but certainly do-able. They have such a specific idea and style… how could I not be intrigued by it? That happens at the end of March.

The piece I’m developing for California is getting some momentum. I’m told there’s a student who’s interested in assistant directing, another in choreographing and staging, and a few who want to work on the sound elements. Sending along the text now to other people… getting their feedback and opinions… is kind of daunting. There’s so much more to write and discover, and I feel like I can’t keep on it fast enough.

I’m obsessing, positively, over drawings for two shows. I’m having a ball with these sketches; I keep doing more and I’m starting to think I’ll never be done or satisfied or that I’ve drawn myself into a corner. I don’t think these theaters can realize what I’ve drawn. Do I stop drawing? Do I stop the part of the process I enjoy? Or do I keep at it and hope they get excited and get on board?

Throw in feeling like I need to get to the gym and the dog-walks and life in general and I feel a bit scattered.

These are good things, yes?

Yes.

 

 

Please leave a reply!

