Block 343: February 13, 2014

IMG_5679

 

Happy Snowstorm Day, everyone.

Date: February 13, 2014

Crane: 343

Days Spent on Project: 362

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Stephen S.

Stephen was another design professor at the Yale School of Drama. Another lighting designer at the top of the game, he co-taught the lighting design classes I took for my first two years at the YSD. He was the lighting designer who would be brave enough to sit down with all the non-lighting designers and explain (several times) rudimentary ideas like angles and instruments and gels and systems. He would have to do it several times before any of us would pretend like we understood.

You know, as I think back on those classes in the design department, I’m struck by how intimidating it should have been to be in a class with all those the theater designers that would mentor me and all my classmates for three years. Seriously. Just thinking about all the theaters they’ve designed for, the directors and actors they’ve worked with, the regional and international theaters they’ve worked in, the awards they’ve earned… why wasn’t I afraid to walk into those classes as a 24 year old?

I don’t think any of us, my classmates, were actually.

As much as I view my Yale education with a sideways glance, I have to say it was a powerful and transformative theater experience. It was a huge growing experience for me, in a lot of ways, not just in the classroom, backstage, onstage, etc. The person I was at 27, picking up my diploma, was leagues beyond the student that walked in at 24. Better in a lot of ways, sure, but not perfect.

And don’t even get me started on how much has changed since I moved to New York back in 2006.

Oh, Life.

Music I listened to while sewing: Robyn! Why isn’t she more famous!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m really glad I got out and did all my returns for the film shoot yesterday. Having to get out today in this weather, and riding the subway as much as I did yesterday, would not be ideal at all. So really thankful that I have the luxury of saying, “You know what? I think I’ll work from home today!”

I’m hoping to get a lot of work done today.

I have one design interview this afternoon, over the phone. I’m curious why I’m a contender as I feel like my work doesn’t fit in with the audience and company at all… I even wonder if I’m (as a person) the right fit for the company. But, the pangs of freelance desperation/guilt are telling me to sell myself as best I can and make the experience an adventure. If it’s offered to me, of course. Work is work, right?

The work on the California Project continues. It’s exciting. It’s impossible. It’s a learning experience. It’s humbling. It’s fun.

Pippin is still drawing along. I need to re-do one principal character, then send these ideas off to the theater. I’m almost certain the response will be slightly overwhelmed by what I want. Oh well.

And my dog is hibernating.

Here we go. Let’s stay warm today!

Please leave a reply!

