Block 342: February 12, 2014

IMG_5677

 

Web-series has been filmed and struck. Next.

Date: February 12, 2014

Crane: 342

Days Spent on Project: 361

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jennifer T.

Jennifer is a member of the design faculty at the Yale School of Drama. She’s also a really famous, really in demand, lighting designer.

She taught me lighting design for my first two years at the YSD. My third year, in our weekly class (we had ONE class our last year, that’s how crazy intense that experience was), she’d be actively engaged with all my classmates’ work, regardless of discipline.

She would famously start out her lighting design class every year with the simple question: “What is style?”

Almost 11 years later, I’m not sure there is a definitive answer to the question. Is it the manner in which you put things together? Is it fashionable? Is it evolving? It is definite? Is it a genre? A color? An idea? Is it inherently a part of who we are and the work we do? Is it personal? Do we define it or is it defined for us? Can we identify our own style? Is it subjective? Objective?

I still don’t know. I believe she’s incredibly intelligent and passionate about the work she does. I always got the sense that she was a good mentor; she seemed fully aware that we were on our own processes and would make mistakes and not know what to do and how to do it, but she seemed respectful that we had to learn for ourselves… with some guidance, of course.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got an album called “Orion” on this afternoon. It’s by she. It’s kind of awesome and shiny and new.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The film shoot wrapped up last night. I was actually released about three hours early because filming was getting behind, the shots were getting re-thought to fit time constraints, there were only three actors on set who had been fully dressed and ready to go…

It was a tough day. I think they let me leave because the producers knew I had done what I could with the time and resources I had. We had done some amazing work honestly. We costumed a geisha out of the cheapest and most random materials; I made a wig practically out of thin air that looked 100% believable on camera. I was happy with what *I* had contributed. I hope everyone else is happy with that too.

But I learned a bunch.

So it was a good experience.

I’m super-exhausted and my dog is a little clingy today. I need to run three errands in four hours. I’m partially okay with ignoring them for now and doing them tomorrow, but if we get 6-10 inches of snow tonight… it’s best I do them today.

Okay, nothing important to say…

Time to go…

ciao…

Please leave a reply!

