Block 341: February 11, 2014

IMG_5665

Here we go for another day of shooting! I am incredibly tired, but we’re so close…

Date: February 11, 2014

Crane: 341

Days Spent on Project: 360

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Mary V.

Mary was the woman who the design department hired to replace Kathedral as their secretary (I should call it administrative assistant, I’m know… sorry).

A group of us, as second years, went over to her office on her first day to welcome her to the department and see how things were going. She looked a bit overwhelmed by it, but calmly met us and learned all our names and said she was looking forward to this adventure.

Over the next two years, I would spend more than a few hours sitting in her office, talking and unloading about my experience at the school, and I also spent some time listening to her as she talked about her days at work. We would talk about feeling slightly overworked and a little frazzled and then talk about dating misadventures or productions I was working on or that she had seen and project mishaps that I was committing in class.

My third year, those talks became increasingly necessary as I just couldn’t seem to do anything “right” in the eyes of the department. My sketches were too loose, too out of proportion, the wrong media, the wrong colors, badly composed, the wrong idea, a long stretch, etc. etc. etc. I had elected of my own free will to design Peter Shaffer’s Amadeus as a class project; a class project that turned into my graduate thesis by the end of the year as I had done over 40 sketches and finished 5 quarter inch set models for. In the end, I’m proud of those sketches (and the models, even though I stupidly threw them away when I moved to a small apartment in Manhattan): they’re really good. But, I went through how many versions, how many styles, how many attempts to get at the right look that would ultimately earn me my diploma? It was a lot of work.

Mary, god bless her, went through the trash one day after I had thrown away my Amadeus Watercolor Experiment Sketches and pulled them out. She asked if she could keep them; she thought they were beautiful.

Mary, just a few weeks ago, emailed me a picture of six of those sketches, which she’s hung up in her house.

Mary’s great like that.

Music I listened to while sewing: Orchestral music from Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today’s our last day of shooting, and we’ve got a lot to tackle!

I’m so intrigued to see how this is going to turn out… this whole process has been a VERY quick process. It hasn’t seemed problematic or out of control at all; it just seems like we’re doing everything in a huge time crunch. I’m not sure if more days of shooting would have helped. Yes, we would have done more shots that were on the master shoot list, but I think we got enough usable footage.

We’ll see next month, when they’re released… Less than a month for post-production of an entire season? SO QUICK.

On a side note, feeling overwhelmed. I know it’s the sleep talking, but also had a Skype meeting about the California project yesterday. I think it has the potential to be really good, really interesting, but I feel and know I’m wading into the unknown with this project. I’m taking a huge risk. I’ve somehow convinced at least another person to willingly climb onboard… and HE has found people who are willingly intrigued and excited by it. And they gave me feedback. And it was helpful. And they want to see where it goes.

I need to find a way to keep pursuing that.

Okay, I’m behind. Need to walk the dog (it’s before 6am!?!), and get out to Jersey.

Ciao.

Please leave a reply!

