Block 325: January 26, 2014

IMG_5554

 

My shoulder aches again this morning. Hmmm.

Did I pinch something?

Date: January 26, 2014

Crane: 325

Days Spent on Project: 344

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Anne K.

Anne was another one of the third-year costume designers when I started my first year at the Yale School of Drama. I actually didn’t get to see that much of her until a month or two into the school year; she was designing the first production at the Yale Rep, The Black Dahlia. It was a huge show- I have no idea how many looks or characters were in the piece- but the shop was cranking out costumes and fittings to get that 1940s noir piece up. (Yes, it was later turned into a movie… I didn’t see it.)

One of the things that I admired most about the third year costume designers was that they all had a very specific way of drawing, and each of their styles was strong and individual to them. I also liked that two of them (Anne being one) used markers and pencils, which was the media I used the most and best. I got a lot of crap because of that (why don’t you want to use watercolor?), but in the end it was a medium I felt most comfortable with… so why not? Anne and her classmate Jess used them well, and I appreciated that.

I made the mistake once of saying that all the Yale designers I worked with before going to Yale drew the same way. (Remember, I was at Actors Theatre of Louisville for two years, and they had a fair number of Yale designers go through their costume shop… but what assurance and confidence I had at 24! Jeez…) Anne took offense to that, I’m sure because she assumed that I was throwing all her work and her classmates and my classmates and the second year students into one big melting point and decrying their individual styles. I didn’t mean that; in my opinion, I feel like Yale students have a good sense of proportion and specificity and are able to communicate what their design wants to be. That’s all.

I had the chance to work with Anne once more outside of school, back in 2008, when she and I both assisted a designer on the Off-Broadway production of Fela. It was good to see her again.

Music I listened to while sewing: Again, no music. I couldn’t decide on anything.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I applied to be an Assistant Costume Shop Manager at a really respectable regional theater back in November. I was emailed yesterday that I didn’t have the qualifications for the job.

I get that, sure. I’ve worked for 12 years as a designer and an assistant/associate designer in New York, the regions, and so on… I don’t have “Shop Manager” stamped on my resume.

But, what more do I have to do to be qualified?

So… I’m a little frustrated this morning.

I made pancakes, and wallowed in overly enjoying carbs. It seemed like a good response at the time.

I’ll go to the gym later.

Please leave a reply!

