Block 324: January 25, 2014

IMG_5552

In honor of last night, and some peppermint candies, I’ll unofficially call this one “Sexy Witch.”

Date: January 25, 2014

Crane: 324

Days Spent on Project: 343

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Amanda W.

Amanda’s married now; I don’t know if her last name is different or not. Hmm.

Amanda was one of four costume designers in the third-year class, when I was a green first-year student. I had the opportunity to work with Amanda twice over that year. The first time, I worked as work-study wardrobe crew for a playwright’s thesis project. Amanda was the costume designer; she led me through the small show, talked to me about the quick changes and clothes, she even had me make a “crown of thorns” for a character out of chewed up number two pencils. (It was needed for the story, and was actually appropriate and kinda funny.) That show, would two years later, be produced again, but this time at the Yale Rep. Amanda didn’t design it- my classmate did- but it was interesting to start my Yale career working on one show in a low-budget capacity and then see it transform into a more “professional” (i.e. regional) theater production.

The second time I worked with Amanda, I was her assistant on the last Yale Rep show of the year. That play (called “The Mystery Plays”) was also by a recent Yale School of Drama grad and was being co-produced by Second Stage. That was pretty cool, to attend rehearsals and have some fittings in their space. That was 2004; in 2012, I’d be assisting another costume designer on a production at the Public, and going to rehearsals and having fittings in the same old spaces. Interesting how small things can be, right?

Amanda was a lot of fun. I liked working with her a lot. I have no idea what she’s up to now; I know she’s not in New York, maybe Connecticut with her husband? As her third year was winding down, she was curious about illustrating books along with designing for theater. I’m curious to know if she’s still juggling both.

Music I listened to while sewing: I sewed in silence this morning. I can hear the hissing of my radiator in the background, along with my dog’s snoring. He’s decided that it’s okay to start hibernating for the rest of the season apparently.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I like to tell people that every time I see Sleep No More, it’s a new and wholly unique experience. Even as you stumble upon the same scenes, each time you go, every visit I’ve had has left a different taste in my mouth (figuratively and literally… actually).

Last night was the first time I felt like crying during the show.

I had a good time, I did. But, I had the interesting experience of being recognized WHILE I WAS THERE, which really hit me. Is it a spoiler to admit there’s a bar inside that building? There is, you can buy drinks as it’s a bar, and there are bartenders at the bar, as is usual. I normally don’t get a drink, but last night I did.

The bartender recognized me, asking if I was excited for my second trip. She remembered me from last weekend.

That felt nice.

I have a habit of wearing the same outfit when I go. I’ve almost always done this; I think the pattern and outfit makes me a little more visible in all those dark hallways. I repeatedly wear this outfit… why? Well, in the hope that the repetition breeds recognition. I don’t know if it works or not.

But it’s nice to be noticed.

I really want people to notice me. That’s blunt. It’s honest. I don’t know what I have to do to get people to be more aware of ME in this city, but I’ve got to do something.

I’m clearly not succeeding as well as I’d like.

Yesterday I wondered what it would be like to disappear. Strangely, I wonder if I already have.

Please leave a reply!

