Block 321: January 22, 2014

IMG_5544

 

3… 2… 1… CONTACT!

Date: January 22, 2014

Crane: 321

Days Spent on Project: 340

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Sergio V.

Sergio was a third year design student- a set designer- when I was a first year at the Yale School of Drama. I think he was brilliant! Well, I’m sure he still is brilliant.

How do I define that? What was it about his work? I think, from the eyes of a newbie, first year student, the scale of his projects were impressive. Looking back, while his models were beautifully made, he demonstrated a very theatrically effective l understanding of what Yale taught; I should have seen in him the product of three years of good education. I’m not making light of his talent. I just think that he– well a lot of people in that third year– had a good innate sense of what was good design for theater.

It’s funny for me to think about how much I unknowingly¬†idolized those third year students. From their shared studio space across the hall from ours in the Design Annex on Park Street, brilliance and skill just seemed to pour out. They had three years under their collective belt of Yale Lessons and Life, and it seemed that they had mastered whatever skill we were being taught. I never understood why they were upset at their own work, or felt frustrated and displeased by the product, or didn’t have a happy experience in class. I was coming to grad school at the unripened age of 24, from Louisville, and a mostly regional theater background. I felt so behind.

I saw in all of them “Skill.” That excited me, but I knew I was going to have to work my behind off to get to their level.

Anyway, Sergio was from Mexico, and went to Mexico City after he graduated from Yale. From his Facebook posts, he seems like he’s got a great career and continues to do awesome work.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m actually listening to Dan Savage’s Podcast “Savage Love” this morning. Normally, I like listening to it, but he just advised a 34 year old man, who’s single, that there might be an issue he needs to think personally about that’s keeping him from finding a partner. Granted, there were mitigating circumstances in THAT situation, but…

… this 34 year old single man didn’t want to hear that this morning.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I am so lonely right now.

I don’t think I’ve had a conversation- an actual dialogue with another human being that lasts more than 5 minutes and dives deeper than this cold weather and my recent work- in several days. My dog is also upset at this latest Polar Vortex snowstorm we’ve had, so he’s refusing to go outside and has been sleeping most of the past 24 hours; I haven’t even been able to chat with him. I’m going to the gym today just to be around other people.

I did get a lot of stuff done, started, and accomplished yesterday just because I couldn’t find any distractions. So, that was good?

On a side note, I finally deleted an online dating profile I set up a year ago. It’s been gathering cobwebs on the internet for a while, so I swept it away. I know it seems counter-intuitive, but I didn’t enjoy it.

Maybe I’ll go buy some more books to read today?

New York- a city with 8 million or so people- can be so incredibly solitary sometimes.

One thought on “Block 321: January 22, 2014

Please leave a reply!

