Block 320: January 21, 2014

IMG_5542

Today I need to focus.

Too many distractions, but too much to do.

Date: January 21, 2014

Crane: 320

Days Spent on Project: 339

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: S. Ryan S.

S. Ryan was a third year lighting designer when I started my first year at the Yale School of Drama. She was the only lighting designer to survive to the third year in her class, and therefore I always thought she was a tried and true warrior. As she was the only lighting designer in her year, she was practically everywhere that needed lighting attention.

She was an unofficial (or was it official?) kind of teaching assistant for the lighting design seminar we would have every Monday, bright and early. This meant she had to deal with us (the non-lighting designers) more than she probably wanted to… The constant explaining of angles, the different lighting instruments, how to program a board, how to hang and focus lights in weekly practicums, the importance of backlighting and side-lighting, different color systems, etc.

That Lighting Design class (which the non-lighting designers had to take for two full years) was interesting. I tried to grasp the basics of it all, and I think I got the gist of it, but my strength will always be dealing with concrete materials and people in a space. From the first project, The Front Page by Hecht and MacArthur, to dance pieces or The Designated Mourner, we all tried. The lighting designers, God bless them, would smile, sigh, and roll their eyes as we fumbled along.

I always liked S. Ryan. She had a strong presence, which I appreciated, but still managed to have fun with it all. She, like all the other lighting designers there, seemed very matter of fact about it all, very dry. I’m sure my three years at Yale did nothing but reinforce my belief that lighting designers have a Sahara-like dry sense of observation and humor. And I like that.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Rhapsody in Blue on at the moment.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I feel like I’ve got a lot of things to start doing today, which I’m thankful for and overwhelmed by.

That another snowstorm is approaching is not making it any easier to get outside and start traipsing through New York.

I seem to have a lot of projects “on spec” coming my way recently. Would you want to work on this project? Could you do this for us? Would you be interested? What do you think? Can you send us more info? I’m working on several ideas right now in the hopes that they turn into concrete things. I’m trying to cast a net out as often as I can.

Want to do some illustrations for a book? How about research for something else? Could you organize this? Would you write out objectives for this project? Can you make a syllabus for review? Can you draw this out?

I’m left wondering, how am I supposed to make any money, a livelihood, when I feel like all my time is spent trying to make things realize themselves.

Freelance is hard.

Okay, off to start tackling my to-do list.

Please leave a reply!

