Block 318: January 19, 2014

IMG_5536

 

Sunday Funday! Now, what am I going to do?

Date: January 19, 2014

Crane: 318

Days Spent on Project: 337

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Lee S.

Lee was a year ahead of me at the Yale School of Drama. When I moved to New Haven, he was designing the first student production for that year, Tennessee Williams’s Orpheus Descending. The set was massive; they turned all of 1156 (they’ve since changed the name of that theater… it’s now got a patron/donor’s last name) into the store where all of that story takes place. It was my first, come to think about it, experience of being “immersed” in a show’s world. Granted, it wasn’t going so far as the immersive theater that I’m drawn to know- there was still an audience seating area and a definite fourth wall that the actors wouldn’t break- but it was exciting to walk into a space and have it entirely transformed into a different world.

That world was monochromatic, blue gray, and old. I still think about it.

Lee was another one of the designers that “got” the Yale design education, and his work was consistently good. He now teaches there, too.

On a side note, Lee introduced me to the joy of the movie Mildred Pierce, New Haven pizza, and also one of New Haven’s gay bars. He had a dog- a Jack Russell (maybe?) named Oliver. Oliver never liked me.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Dance music on this morning. It’s upbeat. I need that.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I just want everything to work out.

I would like to some day be in a relationship, maybe get married. I’m undecided on whether or not I want kids.

I would like to be able to pay off my student loans and credit card debt. I would like to know what it feels like not to worry about money or what my next job will be.

I would like to make something important. I don’t know what that is yet.

I would like to live in the New York that Sex and the City promotes- a city where I knew a group of people that could involve me. I don’t need the social scene of that fictional New York; I just need the group.

I would like to look back and think I did something worthwhile. I don’t need to be famous. I’d just like to know someone else noticed.

I would like respect. From others, sure, but also from myself.

I would like another cup of coffee.

Okay, time to get today started.

Ciao.

Please leave a reply!

