Block 316: January 17, 2014

IMG_5523

 

Tonight I’m seeing Sleep No More for the eighth time! I’m slowly earning the right to be called a fan, I guess.

Date: January 17, 2014

Crane: 316

Days Spent on Project: 335

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Erin B.

(She’s since married and changed her last name, but I met her with this last initial, so…)

Erin was the third costume designer in the year ahead of me at the Yale School of Drama. She was one of the first people I met when I moved to New Haven at the end of the summer in 2003; she had started designing the first YSD production of the year before school started. When I arrived, she and her assistant were already in the throes of realizing a very large production of Tennessee Williams’s Orpheus Descending.

Over the summer in 2013, I had been contacted by the Design Department, offering me the chance to work as her assistant. I’d have to arrive in early August. I would have been paid. I was just finishing my time at the National High School Institute, and was planning to take a short vacation with my family afterwards. I “couldn’t” fit it in my schedule. Looking back, I wish I had sucked it up, cancelled my vacation plans and just dived into school. It would have been a good learning experience. It would have been nice to make some extra cash.

Erin’s drawings were beautiful… that’s one of my first memories of her. I also remember her pulling out a swatch from Mood to show her director one morning; the morning when the entire design and directing department was offered to sit in on a final dress rehearsal for La Finta Giardiniera at New York City Opera. (That was my first Opera experience. Funny to think ten years later, I’d be assisting on a production at NYCO, and would have a long-standing working relationship with the designer for La Finta.)

I don’t think Erin designs for theater anymore. Like I said, she’s now married with (two?) kids, living in Florida. She’s still an artist, painting portraits and other commissions.

Music I listened to while sewing. Pop music on the radio…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Yesterday I sat myself down to re-draw a project for the third time. I got more notes from a director- all workable and understandable- and the request to finish them so they can be used as a part of a production packet for producers. In total, but not including any smaller line drawings for details, I only need to do five sketches. So, why did it take me an hour per drawing?

I used to so good at getting a rough sketch onto a piece of paper, then refining and coloring within an hour. Yesterday it took me an hour to get my rough thoughts down!

Stinks to realize you’re out of practice. Maybe there was something to being required to draw every day back in grad school.

I could bemoan not having time, but I’m pretty sure I could kick my behind into gear and find an hour to sit down and sketch daily. I mean, I found an hour for this project.

Something else to add to the plate.

Happy weekend!

Sleep No More tonight!

Please leave a reply!

