Block 312: January 13, 2014

IMG_5506

 

I’m so so so incredibly distracted this morning.

Date: January 13, 2014

Crane: 312

Days Spent on Project: 331

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jen M.

Jen was the last costume designer in my year. She came to the Yale School of Drama from New York, I believe (and maybe I’m mistaken?) that she was from New Jersey originally. She had gone to Dartmouth; I do remember that.

Jen, I will admit, GOT the Yale School of Drama design aesthetic. From the very first project- Strauss’s opera Salome, she  figured out what worked and what the school wanted. As someone who struggled to latch onto this aesthetic (I do believe I eventually understood it, and even did it well), I will also admit to being a little jealous of that. And I will say that I was somewhat jealous that the department loved her.

There may have also been some tension between us; Jen was the person who told me I’d have a difficult time with the program since I was from the Midwest and was therefore “at a handicap.”

Now TODAY, in the present moment, I get what she was trying to say. I do. Back then? Well…

In the almost 8 years since I graduated, I will say that I haven’t seen Jen in New York. I know she’s working frequently- on good projects- and I know she had a child in the past year or two. But, I haven’t seen her at Yale functions or in the garment district or even on Facebook.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got jazz on this morning. Older jazz… like the music featured in Ken Burns’s documentary on Jazz. It may actually be that compilation, in fact.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I spent the weekend working wardrobe for a press event/producer showing for a hopeful tour. Even with the long hours, and the unexpected additional work needed to make the event happen, I’m glad I did it. I met a lot of great people out of it.

Reinforced the idea that the theater community (in New York) and the entertainment industry (in LA) is really small. That’s a good thing, true, but that can also be a bit problematic.

I need to be more of a player in some ways. I’ve got to figure out a way to be more of a public figure.

One thought on “Block 312: January 13, 2014

Please leave a reply!

