Block 307: January 8, 2014

IMG_5494

 

All I want to do is start hibernating.

Date: January 8, 2014

Crane: 307

Days Spent on Project: 326

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Gina S.

Gina was another one of the first people I gravitated towards during that first year at the Yale School of Drama. She was a lighting designer from New York, and had a very dry sense of humor that I enjoyed quite a bit. Along with Zane and Kate, she was the first clique I joined in at the YSD. Again, it sadly didn’t last that long, as the conflicts of my immediate immersion into the required work-study assignments piled on top of the class assignments, I fell out of favor with them. It happened fairly quickly.

Since graduating, I actually haven’t seen her in New York.

That isn’t exactly true. One afternoon, years ago, I was killing time with a cup of coffee in the Astor Place Starbucks and Gina walked right by the front window. I’ve since learned she works (worked?) for The Blue Man Group, which is around the corner.

Besides that, I’m not sure what she’s up to…

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify suggested I listen to the soundtrack of The Prestige. I’m not sure why… but it’s nicely cinematically ambient and moody. I’m now listening to The Drowned Man.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I spent most of yesterday sleeping. And it was amazing.

But today, I must get back on track! I’ve got magic to do!

Side note… My dog is crawling around the apartment, slowly keeping himself in the direct path of a sunbeam as it moves across the floor. It’s funny to watch; every five minutes or so, he’ll push himself a few inches forward, as the sun shifts. Sometimes he’ll gingerly walk and quickly collapse on top of the sunlight. Other times, he’ll use his stubby back legs to thrust forward. He’ll snore soon after.

In my old apartment, with it’s three windows, one facing a brick wall and the two others facing Second Avenue and a string of tall buildings, we never had direct sunlight inside. There was some light, yes, but it was always indirect.

How much of an epiphany that must have been for him… to get to experience a sunbeam on this apartment’s floor.

It really is the little things, isn’t it?

Please leave a reply!

