Block 294: December 24, 2013

IMG_5422

 

Wait, it’s Christmas Eve?!

Date: December 24, 2013

Crane: 294

Days Spent on Project: 311

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Nancy V.

Nancy was another one of the interns at Actors Theatre of Louisville during my first season. For the life of me, I cannot remember what department she was exactly in, but I feel like it was in the literary department. I think she was always “dramaturging” one of the shows that was in rehearsal.

She was one of our group during the first part of the year, when we all had some free time and were still getting used to Louisville, working at a theater, and not being in school. I feel like she was around a few times during some communal dinners that we would have at a good friend’s apartment.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sometimes you just need Spotify to play random selections of dance music at 9 in the morning. Loudly.

Yes, I am that neighbor this morning.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Up again until 3am. I don’t know why, but I couldn’t shut my mind off. I’m not very awake yet, even though it’s almost noon and I’ve been out of bed for almost 4 hours and I’ve made three cups of coffee.

It’s Christmas Eve. I’ll be spending today and tomorrow alone. Harrumph.

In a tradition I started with my parents a few years ago, I might go out and buy myself a present just because it’s sometimes nice to buy yourself a present. Treat for me. Of course, last week I bought 4 books (super on sale all of them and used!) for a project I’m working on. I’m not sure I should spend any more money right now.

Regardless, I’ll get to the gym.

Contacted by last week’s theater company that offered me a job for $400, designing a 21 character, 30 outfit show for a $300 budget. They emailed, asking what it would take to do the show as the director has described. I haven’t responded because I’m afraid by offering “advice” and my “opinion,” I’ll be unknowingly signing on for the project. I mean, work is work and another resume credit is great and a new company to design for is awesome… but…

What am I getting myself into?

Anyway, hope your Christmas Eve traditions and plans go well. Enjoy the season, however you do…

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Block 294: December 24, 2013

  1. Aloha from Maui, Hawaii,

    I found your site by searching about the Peace Quilt and origami crane quilts. I love your blocks and I’ll enjoy looking at all your posts.

    I’m going to start making cranes. I don’t know how many. I’ve been folding paper cranes and I’m up to 95. It’ll take a while for me to get to 1,000. It’s the journey, though, rather than the destination, yes?

    My Dear One and I are spending a quiet day today and tomorrow. We don’t have a tree or decorations since our son lives away. We’re going to the mall, though, just to people watch.

    Take care and I hope you have a wonderful, peaceful day.

    Hunter

    • Hello from New York City-

      It IS all about the journey, yes! Trust me, I understand how daunting it can seem as you start a project like this; I wish you luck with it.

      And I think people-watching at a Mall on Christmas Eve is actually really fun. I used to do it annually with my family. It was always fun and educational.

      Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

