Block 290: December 20, 2013

IMG_5402

 

Friday! I think, right?

Date: December 20, 2013

Crane: 290

Days Spent on Project: 307

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Claire C.

My second year at Actors Theatre of Louisville, Claire was the second of two literary interns. (Yesterday’s Crane, Suzannah, was the other one)

Claire and I would spend many nights at hanging out, which- since she was an intern with the company- meant we’d most likely head over to her apartment. A distance away from the theater, She shared it with two other of the acting apprentices; I think they might have been the only apprentices who didn’t choose to live in the apartments “provided” by the theater (the apprentices still had to pay rent, from what I understand).

Claire, awesomely enough, was the person in Louisville who got me to join the gym. It was a YMCA, just a few blocks away from the theater, which made it incredibly convenient for an after work cardio session. I think Claire and I went together once or twice. I ended up going pretty much every day.

Growing up, I was not athletically-minded. My parents signed me up for Peewee baseball one season, which didn’t go over so well. Another summer, they put me on a summer soccer team. In fifth grade, again, they tried to get me interested in athletics by taking me to Tae Kwon Do classes; even though I managed to get a yellow belt, I quickly lost interest. (Thank GOD I found theater!)

I started running in high school, for personal reasons (Some people called me fat); I think I was 16? It started out as a fast walk for 10 minutes. Eventually, at my peak, I’d run 9 miles at a time in less than 90 minutes. Joining the gym in Louisville, was the first gym I ever joined. To this day, I can’t imagine living anywhere and not having access to cardio equipment. I can’t go more than a few days without needing to get to the gym. Even a 30 minute run is better than no run, right?

Thanks, Claire!

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Punchdrunk’s The Drowned Man Playlist on this morning. Needed a change… of course, it’s not new music to me, but it’s not the same Fort Fairfield album or McQueen runway collections.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Holiday Party Number 2 was last night. This time, it was at a studio, thrown by three small theater companies who use the space for rehearsals and small “workshop” productions. I only knew one of the companies there, so I did my best to mingle.

I did, however, bring a friend in case there was no mingling to be done.

The crowd was incredibly varied in age. Some young people, new-ish to New York. Other people much older, much much older, who are still kicking around the scene. No one “theater famous” or big.

Such a marked contrast to last week’s Holiday Party at the Yale Club of New York… whose attendees had won some Tony’s, run large theater companies, act all over the place, and so on. Many of those people were my peers in grad school. Many of them I consider good working colleagues. I respect their work.

It’s important to remember that many of the people that I went to school with at Yale are in the same boat as I am- still trying to scrape things together, still trying to make things happen, still trying to work as much as possible.

But last night, the energy in the room- filled with people also trying and striving to make things happen, of course- the energy was lighter. Maybe I’m waxing poetic, romantic, but the kind of drive in the room last night was different.

It was a more comfortable drive.

That was nice to know.

Holiday Party Number Three tonight. This time, it’ll be with… Actors.

(Fingers Crossed)

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

