Block 286: December 16, 2013

IMG_5387

 

Date: December 16, 2013

Crane: 286

Days Spent on Project: 303

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Abby W.

Abby was a stage management intern my second season at Actors Theatre, and would become one of my better friends there during that time.

I’m not sure what brought us together exactly, but I know she was there for me (whether she wanted to be or not) when I needed someone’s shoulder to cry on. Literally.

My second season there wasn’t the happiest of times. It was one of the first , if not the first, times when I experienced feeling left behind. My friends from the previous season, a few of which were the kind of friends you’re lucky to make and have, they all left the theater since their times as interns and apprentices had come to an end. I was lucky to have had the opportunity- and the small sense of job security- to stay an extra year. I had the chance to move beyond the honeymoon period. I got to see things a second time around. I met more designers and theater artists. I learned more about sewing and patterning. I made a tiny bit more money.

Those are all great, but I was slightly devastated and adrift when I realized that my support system, my group, my friends were no longer there. Even though I wasn’t a stranger to Louisville or the theater at that time, I felt like I had to start over.

So, Abby was the first person that second season to fill that gap in my life. I’m incredibly grateful for that.

Music I listened to while sewing: Back to the McQueen.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today I made an unintentional mistake with my Crane. My background fabric, the batik, is on the wrong side! I didn’t realize it until I had marked my lines and cut all the pieces out. Should I scrap those pieces, re-mark it on the “right” side, and start over.

No, I continued bravely on, using the pieces as I originally marked them.

I guess this is one of those “$5 mistakes” that a craftsperson-friend of mine talks about. She says you always want to leave one or two small mistakes in a finished craft product; that way you can add $5 to your final sale price because it’s proof to the purchaser that it’s a handmade object.

Part of me loves that. Another part of me wants everything to remain perfect.

But not everything has to be perfect. Perfect, like pretty, can be boring sometimes.

I actually like that I used the “wrong” side of the batik; it makes the Crane pop more.

Good luck with our upcoming week!

Cheers.

3 thoughts on “Block 286: December 16, 2013

  1. There are those who have had many a disagreement about whether there is a “right” or “wrong” side to batiks. I like your decision.

Please leave a reply!

