Block 285: December 15, 2013

IMG_5384

 

It’s noon. My dog and I slept in.

Date: December 15, 2013

Crane: 285

Days Spent on Project: 302

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: SM Pablo.

Pablo was the head stage manager at Actors Theatre of Louisville. The mainstage shows, in the Pamela Brown theater were under his command, and I suppose he had earned that position after years of working with the theater.

I feel, I believe, I remember that he always wore shorts. One of the theater’s barometers of the winter weather was when he switched to pants.

It wasn’t until a few months into my first season that I learned he had worked at other theaters that ATL. Of course he had, most theater people bounce around early in their careers. I was told he worked in New York, which wasn’t surprising.

What was surprising was to learn he was a stage manager on the original musical production of Little Shop of Horrors. It’s one of my favorite movies; you can imagine how SM Pablo moved up in my esteem immediately.

Can you imagine going to work with Ellen Greene every day?

Music I listened to while sewing: Chose to avoid the McQueen music this morning. Instead of choosing something less intense, I settled on a playlist for Punchdrunk’s The Drowned Man.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: What to say?

Didn’t get to my Holiday Party last night; between the combination of the disgusting weather, a friend being sick, and another friend not wanting to be social, I called it a no-go. I regret that (no networking?!), but with a half hour subway ride ahead of me and at least an hour and a half subway ride home… it wasn’t gonna happen.

My dog has decided to hibernate for the season.

I should get to the gym.

Cold Sundays are the worst.

Ciao.

Please leave a reply!

