Block 283: December 13, 2013

IMG_5379

 

TGIF.

Date: December 13, 2013

Crane: 283

Days Spent on Project: 300! Can you believe I started this project THREE HUNDRED DAYS AGO?

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Deb F.

So, when I started working at Actors Theatre of Louisville in the Fall of 2001, the only theater experiences I had been involved in were either high school, college, or community theater productions. ATL was, therefore, my first real taste of what “professional” theater was going to be like.

In those past experiences, of course the roles integral to mounting a play or musical were filled: The designers were there, the actors, of course, a director and/or musical director, and even crew members to run the show. We even had people who knowingly volunteered to stage manage these plays. Now, in my high school experience, that person mainly just made sure we were all present when we needed to be, gave out line notes, and ran the light board during performances. In college, they also took blocking notes, ran production meetings, emailed rehearsal reports, etc.

In the “professional” world, I soon learned the stage manager really was a central hub that brought all the various departments into one loop. They tried to manage chaos into a process.

The Type-A side of me, which is rather large if you haven’t already thought about it, fell in love with the job of the stage manager and I’m not surprised that I enjoyed working with them, hanging out with them. It wasn’t often, to be truthful, but I thought they were the coolest people.

Deb F. was one of the in-house assistant stage managers. She’d be involved in most all the productions at Actors Theatre, as the ASM, organizing crew members, distributing information, and making sure everyone had what they needed to keep the process going.

Did I learn anything specific from her? I can’t remember.

I guess I did learn from Deb that The Wizard Of Oz is a movie that needs to be cherished. Her favorite, she had a collection of Oz and Dorothy paraphernalia that was fairly impressive. I guess I learned from her when you’re mildly fascinated/obsessed with something fun, be proud of it.

In my workspace in the costume shop that first season, I soon started my own N-Sync shrine. Just for good measure.

Music I listened to while sewing: McQueen… La Dame Bleue, Natural Dis-tinction Un-natural Selection, The Horn of Plenty, Plato’s Atlantis, and now Pantheon as Lecum to be exact.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: “You shouldn’t worry, you’re gonna make it.”

Someone told me that recently. I had just answered his question, “What are you working on right now?” with the elusive answer, ” It’s the holidays; things are slow for the moment.”

The vote of confidence is really nice. I appreciate it.

Why do I feel like I’ve been left behind then?

Last night, I’ll admit I pieced together an extra three Cranes in a row, one after another, to pass time. I was bored and slightly frustrated, and I needed the distraction.

I have another weekend of Christmas parties ahead of me. They’re all with theater people/companies I know; let’s hope they go well!

Please leave a reply!

