Block 278: December 8, 2013

IMG_5366

 

Another block in my series called “Crane’s Atlantis,” based off of the Alexander McQueen runway show “Plato’s Atlantis.”

Date: December 8, 2013

Crane: 278

Days Spent on Project: 295

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Rondi H-D.

My second year at Actors Theatre of Louisville, since we hired a resident costume designer, the only opportunity to work with visiting designers was during the Humana Festival. Rondi was one of the designers to visit us in 2003. I assisted her on a show, Slide Glide The Slippery Slope.

I don’t remember much about the actual show- modern dress, mostly actresses in “every day, pedestrian” clothes. I remember we had a very hard time finding Mary Jane’s for an adult actress… this was 2003, before the resurgence of ballet flats in fashion.

Being 2003, the book Fast Food Nation was still somewhat popular. Rondi had recently read it, and I distinctly remember her telling me how the powdered “cheese” in boxed macaroni and cheese is nothing more than dirt and chemicals. To this day, boxed mac and cheese remains a guilty pleasure and comfort food. I think of Rondi every time I buy it at the store.. Although I no longer buy the “powdered cheese” variety.

She made a difference.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got an Alexander McQueen playlist today! I managed to piece together the music from 9 of his runway shows last night, and tonight I’m going to do more.

I can’t tell you how happy this made me.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I sometimes worry that I’m becoming a hermit.

Between the time I allocate for this project every morning, the time I like spending with- and walking- my dog, the costume sketching that I’m trying to make a regular part of my job/life again, and the various other projects (finding work, working, updating my website, etc.), I worry that I don’t get out enough.

Freelance and design can kinda be solitary at times.

Please leave a reply!

