Block 267: November 27, 2013

IMG_5321

 

Pink and purple today, anyone?

Date: November 27, 2013

Crane: 267

Days Spent on Project: 284

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Star.

My first season with Actors Theatre of Louisville, Star was a new hire as well. Technically, it was not her first season there; she had spent the prior year working as an acting apprentice, meaning she agreed to work for 10 months, 6-7 days a week, taking classes, helping various departments (sets, props, lights, sound, costumes, stage management, administrative, etc.) make things run smoothly. They would often be expected to work 8-10 hours a day.

At the time, this opportunity was lumped under the umbrella term “the unpaid internship.” I saw how vital these people- my peers, as they were all my age and recent college graduates- were to the everyday operation of the theater (and indeed several other theaters throughout the country) and how hard they worked for a line on a resume; That they did so much for so little leaves me with mixed emotions.

Star stayed with ATL for a second season (my first) as a full-time stitcher in the costume shop. The previous year, she was repeatedly placed in the shop because she knew how to sew and could actually help.

Again, as she was my age, it was nice to have her in the shop; she was quick to laugh, quick to have fun, and quick with a dry remark, if needed.

My first “semester” of that season, I found a piece of fabric- it must have been a 4 ply silk chiffon- in a deep red color. Not having much sewing experience at the time, and wanting to feel more capable, I decided I’d teach myself how to make something from start to finish. I took Star’s measurements, I found a pattern that was “beginning,” I adapted the shape to fit her, I made a mock-up, I fit and corrected the pattern, and so on. In the end, it was a good thing for me to do: from learning about the shiftiness of silk, the terrible awesomeness of the invisible zipper, and why you NEVER iron over straight pins in delicate fabric, it was a very valuable project for me to undertake.

I sew much better now.

Star, for her part, was enthusiastic through the process. (A free dress!) Although I’m not sure she ever wore it.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today was mostly silence again. Although I just discovered a song called “Timber” by Pitbull, featuring Kesha. I’m listening to that a bit now.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Kinda finished the second half of my dance concert last night. I have to return a lot of clothes, which is going to be awesome on this gray and rainy day. I have to take in a pair of pants and exchange another. Other than that, I have to go back next week for two quick dress rehearsals and then I can officially move on!

Who knows what’s next? I actually will have the time to work on a bunch of side projects that I need to dive into again. I need a major update on my website. I need to get back to that writing project. I need to find some (paying) work for December. I need to get back to the gym… tomorrow I’ll have the time to do that.

I need to spend some quality time hanging out with my Dog… ’cause I’m really thankful for him.

Okay, that’s not very deep, but the day needs to start.

You are enough!

 

Please leave a reply!

