Block 265: November 25, 2013

IMG_5302

 

And Winter has definitely arrived early. Yesterday’s wind blew off the remaining leaves from the neighborhood trees; it looks bare outside.

Date: November 25, 2013

Crane: 265

Days Spent on Project: 282

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Rebecca T.

Rebecca was hired as a First-Hand my second year at Actors Theatre of Louisville. Maybe it would be more accurate to say “re-hired;” she had worked there previously, but left to take a Wardrobe position with the Denver Center for the Arts. I forget why she left and came back, but she did and I’m thankful she was there for my second year.

For one thing, while I loved all my surrogate mothers in the ATL costume shop, Rebecca was just barely older than me. It was nice to have that connection with someone there.

She introduced me to the joys of taking a 15 minute coffee break (the downtown Starbucks- such a novelty then!), the idea of high fashion (re: a stitching mistake- “it looks like it could be couture!”), how to use a steamer properly on clothes, and horror movies. Rebecca loved them, and she would frequently lend me DVD’s from her collection to catch me up on my sorely lacking exposure to things like “The Hunger,” “Hellraiser,” and many others. I’ll never think of Dario Argento without thinking of Rebecca.

That sounds weird. But I think she’d like it.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m totally having a guilty Monday morning here… I’ve got remixes for Icona Pop’s song “All Night” playing today. I’ve had them on repeat since yesterday.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Tech today and tomorrow in New Jersey. I think I’m prepared for it all, just a few little notes on tonight’s dance piece and some assigning to do on tomorrow’s.

I managed to shop tomorrow’s dance piece (the idea is a modern day Missy Elliot-LMFAO-Madonna circa Celebration dance party) in a little under 8 hours and only along 34th Street in Manhattan. That itself feels award-worthy.

I overbought a lot, so I have stuff to play around with during the fittings tomorrow.

I keep telling myself, with these two pieces… “I am not trying to win any awards with this; I’m just trying to get them dressed and the work done.”

That’s a big admission from me: not everything has to be perfect or amazing or ground-breaking. Sometimes “done” is beautiful and perfect.

Sometimes the work you do is just enough and sometimes your Just Enough is absolutely right.

You are enough.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 265: November 25, 2013

Please leave a reply!

