Block 263: November 23, 2013

IMG_5293

 

The weekend is here… And I need to shop for 16 outfits for a dance piece.

And I have a fever.

Yay.

Date: November 23, 2013

Crane: 263

Days Spent on Project: 280

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Micky.

Micky and I actually started working at Actors Theatre the same day, although she was hired as a draper, womenswear especially.

She drove a blue Volkswagon bug, her husband was a preacher at a church, and by the end of her first year she was pregnant with her first child. After she gave birth, I believe she took the rest of the season off. She may not have come back the next year, I can’t remember correctly.

I remember her making a green coat with a persian lamb collar for the first production of the year- Floyd Collins. It was worn by a young girl; she looked adorable. For the same show, she had to make a 20s coat for an adult actress… again, great fur collar and fantastic silhouette. If you know anything about 20s fashion, you know waists were dropped and not cinched; the actress kept trying to get us to raise it and take it in. Micky stuck to her guns. In the end, the actress looked good… and she looked good in the right silhouette.

Micky later make a hankie-hemmed chiffon bias cut dress for a modern production of Hay Fever. The dress was awesome- very Sex and The City- and was my first real exposure to bias and how awesome it is.

Music I listened to while sewing: Actually didn’t listen to any music this morning. I can hear the steady hum of traffic on the George Washington Bridge. There’s a bird outside my window too.

The Dog is also snoring on his bed.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I got out of bed this morning feeling very sick. I didn’t sleep well; for most of the night, I guess I had a series of cold sweats.

I’m functioning now. The headache has gone mostly away. My body still feels achy and tired, but I’ve got work to do.

Dreamt that I had to re-mount a production I designed two years ago. The clothes were kept in an old warehouse on two floors. One floor was covered with water- murky, swampy, mosquito-infested water. I had to walk on a concrete path above the water to find the elevator to the next floor. At one point, I fell in.

I never made it to the second floor. Someone actually chastised me for not knowing how to get there, especially as someone “who’s done this before.”

I have no idea what it all meant.

Okay, the headache is back.

Hope you’re all having a good weekend.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

