Block 260: November 20, 2013

IMG_5270

 

Let the Sunshine in today.

Date: November 20, 2013

Crane: 260

Days Spent on Project: 277

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Rose M.

Rose was one of the stitchers who worked in the costume shop at Actors Theatre of Louisville. She was another one of the “life-timers” in the shop; it seemed like she was another one of the key foundations there, building whatever costume came her way. Who knows how many of the clothes in that huge basement storage area were built by her hands? How many designers she had worked with? How many actors wore her work?

Her daughter, from what I recall, also worked with clothes, but as a designer: burlesque and dancer costumes, somewhere on the west coast.

I always got the impression that Rose would be fun to go out with… back in the day. I never did get that chance.

After my second season with Actors Theatre, over the summer before I went to the Yale School of Drama, I heard that her husband passed away. I sent her a card. I had never met him, but I had heard about him many times over those two years. After that, I do know she went to live with her daughter on the west coast.

A year or so ago, through Facebook, I learned that Rose passed away too. It broke my heart to read that.

I hope she’s creating more amazing work wherever she is.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify told me that M83 released a new album yesterday called “You and the Night.”

I needed a break from Gaga, so it’s playing this morning. More ambient than most of the work I expect from them, it’s seems hopeful.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I did something crazy yesterday. I turned down a design opportunity with a company in town. They were offering $250 for an entire show, no assistant money, and no support staff. The show would open in May, six months down the line, which breaks down to about 40-some dollars every month. I would have liked working with them, and I need the credits on my resume (according to the agents I met with), but I also need to support myself (also according to the agents I met with).

How do you walk the line of getting and doing the work, building a resume and your contacts, and then still find a way to support yourself?

All I can do is keep moving, you know?

Moving on…

Please leave a reply!

