Block 259: November 19, 2013

IMG_5264

 

Back from Los Angeles last night, back to real life; I think it was worth it.

Date: November 19, 2013

Crane: 259

Days Spent on Project: 276

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Susan W.

Susan W. was a draper/tailor that would frequently pop into the costume shop to help out with some of the builds we had every season at Actors Theatre of Louisville. She wasn’t hired as a full-time employee, as I’m not sure she was based in in that city; but she always knew the best time to appear.

I believe she went to FIT in New York to learn about building clothes. She told me never to wear a long coat in New York City; “you don’t want the hem to drag on the ground when you’re walking up subway steps.” The longest overcoat/topcoat I’ll wear to this day will hit below the knee.

She taught me how to make welt pockets that were invisible. She showed me how to make a “professional” button hole for men’s suits.

She really knew a lot about men’s tailoring, and she was good at it. I never could figure out why she wasn’t locked into one place, why she didn’t try to stay put longer. I always assumed she was needed everywhere.

She was a lot of fun to be around.

Music I listened to while sewing: Again, I’m back with Gaga. Still enjoying the album… until I find something else.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So… Los Angeles.

I never thought I’d admit this, but I enjoyed my time there. Granted, I only spent about 48 hours in LA, and much of that time was spent visiting friends and seeing some of the high points, but it was completely different than New York.

I needed the break.

I haven’t been on a vacation since 2006; it was time.

I think it made me realize I’d like to have the chance to enjoy downtime. My friends there take weekends off!

The weekend told me I can make friends and I enjoy being social. Why do I get so down in New York sometimes and think that I’m not a social person and have difficulty making/keeping friends here? Over 48 hours in LA, I feel like I spent more time with people, chatting and hanging out, than I have in New York in MONTHS. How is that possible?

Anyway, much fun was had. Much more fun to be had. But I have to get back to life here and figuring out how to get my design career back on track.

I’m tired of being poor. There: I said it. There is money in my industry, and I want my part of it.

Because I deserve it.

One thought on “Block 259: November 19, 2013

  1. Pingback: Dating Spots In New York | wmofloyd

Please leave a reply!

