Block 258: November 14, 2013

IMG_5242

 

Yesterday: New Haven, CT. Today: New Brunswick, NJ. Tomorrow: Los Angeles, CA.

What am I DOING?

Date: November 14, 2013

Crane: 258

Days Spent on Project: 271

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: John W.

John was person who was hired to replace Kevin as the resident Assistant Costume Designer at Actors Theatre of Louisville. He showed up one week later than I did to start work, as the replacement process was rather quick.

He and I never had the chance to work directly with each other. The first show of the season had already started; a designer was in and out of town, I was working with the Apprentice Company on some of their acting projects, and soon I’d be working on the second show of the season- their holiday production of Dracula. It was a lot of work, all the time, and really quickly.

John and I would divide the season up, so each of us had more or less shows to work on. As the season would heat up, I remember seeing less and less of him as our designers and shows usually had us running in different directions… but usually to one of a few malls.

Strangely, a few years ago, I ran into John outside Penn Station in New York. He was in town, sourcing some materials for some shows he was working on; he told me he had left ATL years ago, to work as a Resident Designer on a production company that was geared more towards musicals. I think that was a great opportunity for him, remember the kinds of shows he wanted to work on back at ATL.

Music I listened to while sewing: More Gaga. She’s got me again!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m watching Orange is the New Black on Netflix this week. Yesterday, I watched the seventh episode wherein the main character discussed The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost:

“Everyone thinks the poem means to break away from the crowd and do your own thing, but if you read it, Frost is very clear that the two roads are exactly the same. He just chooses one at random. And then it’s only later at a dinner party when he’s talking about it that he tells everyone he chose the road less traveled by, but he’s lying. So the point of the poem is that everyone wants to look back and think that their choices matter. But in reality, shit just happens the way that it happens, and it doesn’t matter.”

BAM.

Does any of this really matter? If I go to LA tomorrow? If I design costumes and work in theater? If I head to Jersey to work on one project today?

Making a choice is supposed to be this empowering moment for us: I want this, therefore I choose to work towards this.

But, what’s that John Lennon quote?

“Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.”

I’m feeling a little fatalist this morning. Perhaps it’s that I have to travel to NJ. I don’t know.

3 thoughts on “Block 258: November 14, 2013

  1. I love this block. I was a teacher for 20 yrs and taught The Paper Crane book with my students. Believe it or not I was able to get 23 4th graders to make paper cranes! NOT EASY. This is a beautiful block.

Please leave a reply!

