Block 255: November 11, 2013

IMG_5227

 

Well, the Mercury Retrograde is over. Let’s hope this means life can get itself back on track.

Date: November 11, 2013

Crane: 255

Days Spent on Project: 268

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: After I graduated college, back in 2001, I was lucky enough to get an actual paying job at a respected Regional Theater.

Actors Theatre of Louisville.

I stayed there for two years, when I realized that I could settle into that job and that theater quite easily. I could have stayed employed in that costume shop for a long while. By the time I left, in 2003, I had assisted several designers from all over the country- New York and LA most often. I had started to learn how to tailor men’s suits (still much more to learn!), how to flat-pattern and drape clothing, how to assist, how to work in a professional shop, how to live on my own.

ATL was, and still is, a huge operation. Between the mainstage shows, the holiday productions, the Humana Festival, the summer production, the Acting Apprentice showcases, something was always in process. It was amazing and glorious and tiring and inspiring and comfortable and trying and a kind of family.

I’m incredibly thankful to have stumbled onto that experience and to have met all the people I did. As my first job after college (A THEATER JOB no less), it was a huge step in the process of becoming who I was and am.

A lot of great people worked there. Some still do. A lot of fantastic work happens there.

I really want to work there again. More than ever, I want to come home… even if it is to just design a tiny show, I’d love to go back.

Universe, take that hint.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I’m listening to a playlist I created to help get me excited about a project that won’t happen until the Spring at the earliest. I’ve got lots of early, early Jazz and some fifties “heartbreak” music on.

I need the push to get in a motivated state of mind for that show. I have grant applications due soon!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I realized last night, after feeling slightly on edge all day, that this week is slightly insane. Besides living and doing work in New York City, I’ll also have to be in Connecticut, New Jersey, and Los Angeles. ALL IN THE SAME WEEK.

Not to mention one job interview. A grant application deadline by the end of the week. Interviewing a new dog-boarder for The Dog.

I need to figure out what I’m doing for two dance pieces before Wednesday.

And, plus, I’m going to see Sleep No More again tonight… I got a free ticket, so why not?

So, I feel like I have good reason to feel a bit scattered. Funny how being busy is the goal, isn’t it? Until you get super busy, of course.

Anyway, off to start the day! I’ve got a lot of writing to do!

One thought on “Block 255: November 11, 2013

Please leave a reply!

