Block 250: November 6, 2013

IMG_5192

 

Guys, I’m one quarter way through the project. Have you ever thought that you’re on the journey with me?

Date: November 6, 2013

Crane: 250

Days Spent on Project: 263

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Kitty.

Kitty came to us for one summer, and one summer alone. She designed a play called Cinders, which was about an all-girl reform school production of Cinderella. I vividly remember there being a paper dress that had to be ripped apart on an actress at the climax of the play. So, Kitty made a tissue paper “Cinderella” dress… One for each performance.

I remember that dress vividly. I remember her piecing it together on a dress form in the shop. I remember her being very proud of it. Meanwhile, I remember trying to slog through productions of The Laramie Project and Greensboro.

I also remember that we gave her, at the end of the summer, a gift from the shop: It was a copy of The Empty Space by Peter Brook. I remember talking to Lynn, the division director, about that choice. I remember she suggested it; I remember agreeing that it was a good gift.

I remember all these minute details vividly, and they remain clear memories of my time at NHSI, but I don’t remember much else about Kitty. She had a boyfriend. She kept to herself a bit. She wore a black t-shirt with “Kitty” on it frequently. She went to school in Chicago. She worked in a specific area of our shop and kept her work only there, like we assigned her a space… which we didn’t. She didn’t hang out with us very much.

Odd that she’s such a clear person in my past, but she remains somewhat vague.

Music I listened to while sewing: I broke my Fort Fairfield streak this morning. I’m listening to Avril Lavigne’s new album. She has a brand new album! And, I think some of it’s kinda good.

She’s been around since, what, the year 2000? And she’s still kicking around. That’s dedication.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Yesterday was LONG. Teaching first year undergrad non-design students about “design” is tough. I brought the dog along, to act as my TA; he and I were exhausted when we got home last night.

I dreamt that I was in Minneapolis, which surprisingly looked like a small New England coastal city. I was carrying two expensive china plates in one hand, walking from “work” to a park by myself. When I got to the park, I walked down a central, foot-trodden path; picnickers were gathered at wooden tables placed in rows along either side. There was a lot of yellow gingham tablecloths.

I kept walking. I chose to walk off the path, onto a sidewalk that went between rows of picnic tables. Everyone else was eating off styrofoam or paper plates. It was very casual. I kept walking, carrying my two china plates in my left hand, at my side. I kept walking, knowing that I needed to find the right place to sit and thinking that I’d know it when I saw it. I was hoping there’d be someone waiting to eat with me… or at least someone who had remembered to bring the food. I mean, I brought nice white china plates, after all.

I did keep walking. I walked until the edge of the park, when I ran into the edge of a concrete dock, right at the coastline.

I thought yesterday, in the final hour of yesterday’s marathon teaching session, that it would be a shame to give up doing theater. I like what I do. I’ve done a lot. I’ve seen a lot. I’ve met a lot of people. In a room of over 60 college freshman, who seemed so impressed with what I was saying, it struck me that I have come a long way and I have a long way to go still.

But I still want to go, you know?

2 thoughts on “Block 250: November 6, 2013

Please leave a reply!

