Block 247: November 3, 2013

IMG_5178

Thank heavens for Daylight Savings Time; I feel like there’s a lot of stuff to accomplish or start today.

Date: November 3, 2013

Crane: 247

Days Spent on Project: 260

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Emily McC.

Emily was another one of the costume designers who worked for the National High School Institute in the seven years I spent there. Perhaps we overlapped for three years? Two?

She was a graduate student at Northwestern at the time, which proved to be fortunate for us; she had a good relationship with the staff who worked there year-round, so we no longer felt like intruders with a small army of talkative theater students in the ranks. My last year there, I think I had been the “Shop Manager” for the program for about two years. It was obviously time for me to move on; the years at the Yale School of Drama had tired me out, and I was clouded into believing that I needed to move onto greener pastures elsewhere to advance my career. Emily, also having finished her grad school degree, was the right fit to take over in the following years. I do know she now works full time with another university in Chicago.

Music I listened to while sewing: It’s day three of Fort Fairfield. Why can’t I get enough of them? Are they a group that everyone else knows about and just doesn’t talk about?

Anyway, it’s perfect music for how I feel right now.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So thankful for that extra hour today. I feel like I’ve got to start really making steps in a new direction to keep alive that positive feeling from earlier in the week.

Which is slightly unnerving, because I’m aware that we’re in a Mercury Retrograde for the next week. Not sure how much importance any of you place on that, but I’ve noticed that things don’t always go according to plan when we’re in one of those periods. You’re not supposed to make any concrete decisions or sign contracts or start new projects at these times. You need to remain flexible, go with the flow a bit (and as a Pisces, I’m a little okay with that), and wait for the retrograde to pass.

Yet, the idea that I need to wait another week before *really* hitting the ground running kind of terrifies me. I need and want more work. I want to start investing more time in myself, trying to figure out how to stay above than below.

I’ve got a lot of work cut out for me, and I don’t want the stars or the planets or the what-have-you to be  subtly against me!

Only 58 more days in 2013. Time to start moving forward and looking ahead.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 247: November 3, 2013

Please leave a reply!

