Block 243: October 30, 2013

IMG_5161

 

I know I’m supposed to give off a whiff of being jaded as someone who lives in New York, but last night was awesome. I need more nights like that; I was just so happy.

Date: October 30, 2013

Crane: 243

Days Spent on Project: 255

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Bek S.

Bek spent a few summers with us in the National High School Institute costume shop. I don’t know much about what she was doing before, or what kept her busy in her real life. I remember discovering that she spent some time working in the Goodman Theatre’s costume shop. She may have worked on a musical called “Bounce” that was a new work by Sondheim a few years ago. (She did mention sewing 20s chiffon dresses, which I took as proof that she was a rockstar.)

Was she there for two summers? Three? Her first show was about Lizzy Borden, which seemed crazy (putting high schoolers in corsets and petticoats and guys in suits?!) and I then think she did Our Country’s Good a following year, along with a new play… She was good at period; whereas I would have panicked and tried to figure out a way to simplify it (no time! no money!), she went full force and got the appropriate silhouette on stage.

She would later go on to open a coffee shop near Evanston. We would have production meetings there every once and a while. I’m not sure if it’s still around or what it might have turned into.

I think one of the lessons I needed to take from her was to keep pushing; I think there are times I still need to learn that: you’re never really done.

Music I listened to while sewing: Well, today’s a weird one. I’m listening to a group? musician? band? called The Black Dog, specifically their album Music For Real Airports. It’s kind of ambient, kind of haunting, kind of spare, maybe a little electronic at times.

I’m trying to figure out if it could be useful for some projects.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I guess this week’s lesson is to say “yes” more often than “no.”

It’s impossible to say what one random thing will lead to. Or what kind of time you’ll have.

Last night, at this performance I offered to work on a whim, it turns out one of the producers is a former student from the National High School Institute… that I made a costume for TEN years ago. It was nice to reconnect, you know? And then another actor there was someone I’ve worked with in Connecticut briefly. And then another was an extra in the web-series I did a month ago, but never met; all our correspondence was via text and email.

It made me feel less invisible than I’ve been feeling lately. I needed that. I really did.

So, just say “yes,” kids.

Unless it’s a bad thing, of course. Use your best judgement.

Please leave a reply!

