Block 240: October 27, 2013

IMG_5145

 

I am such a Pisces.

Date: October 27, 2013

Crane: 240

Days Spent on Project: 252

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Ora J-B.

Ora was a connection that I made through all the costume designers I worked with at the National High School Institute. Like many of them, she was a graduate of the DePaul Theatre School, focusing in design.

One summer, I had the genius idea that we might bring in someone to give theatrical make-up masterclasses to all the students we were working with, since many of them had no clue how to apply effective make-up and so many of the productions seemed to need some kind of make-up design. Granted, by having this masterclass, the designers and myself could work on our shows without having to supervise work crews of 15 or so students. So, while the kids learned about bruise wheels and scars and highlights and lowlights and whatnot, we designers would madly try to get as many notes done as possible. Win, win, right?

Ora was a team player. We all loved that she wanted to help us out. Plus, she was just a very good energy to have around.

Music I listened to while sewing: After some Icona Pop, I’m back with the Sleep No More playlist. It’s comfort music at this point, it seems.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I often wonder if I am somehow deficient as an emotional human being.

That’s a big thought to have, isn’t it?

I’m honestly afraid that I’m going to turn into a kind of New York hermit, someone everyone recognizes on the street, someone who is seen out and about, but someone that is never seen engaged with anyone else.

Thank God I have a dog.

Please leave a reply!

