Block 239: October 26, 2013

IMG_5143

Date: October 26, 2013

Crane: 239

Days Spent on Project: 251

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Birgitta V.

Birgitta was a director a worked with only once at NHSI, but I feel like I have a lot to thank her for… Her project, a re-telling of Arabian Nights, was a great production for the program; it allowed many of the students the opportunity to shine and play around and make choices. It allowed for a bit of fantasy and reality. It was about telling stories, in a variety of ways.

I enjoyed working with her. She collaborated with the people she worked with, and she also gave the impression that she trusted those people. That’s a huge vote of confidence.

Even more important, a year or two later, after I had graduated from the Yale School of Drama, she contacted me about designing her thesis at the grad school program she was attending. I enthusiastically jumped on board, and that one production turned into a total of 8 with that same school, which in turn led to working with another university a few times. Looking back, her Hedda Gabler really was an important production for me, in that regard.

A few years ago, she and her husband had a baby boy. I visited her when he was still quite young… Since then, I don’t know what direction her life has taken or where she and her family are right now. I’m ashamed to admit that, as I do consider her a great theater artist and person.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got an “Emerging Artist” Playlist going on Spotify this morning. I don’t know how accurate or up-to-date it is, however; anything that trumpets Fun. as being a new and unknown group seems a little off.

Right?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Yeah, it hit me last night… While I’m supposed to be designing one dance concert that happens early December, I don’t have any other concrete work lined up.

It will be nice to focus on some things that I’ve let slide in the meantime. I can get to the gym regularly. I can work on this project without getting up incredibly early in the morning. I can get back to that workshop and grant proposal. I can try to reconnect with some friends, too.

But work is work and money is money and New York is the way it is.

Earlier this year, I met with a few agents that represent designers. I was told that while I’ve worked on good projects in the past, I didn’t have enough credits that showcased me as the designer, or as someone who was dedicated to the work. I was told I needed to get downtown, working on the small projects that don’t pay. I needed to prove myself in a different way.

I was reminded last night that I’ve done exactly that this year. I’ve tried to take whatever comes my way. I’ve tried to get my name and reputation out there. I’ve tried, and I will keep trying, but…

But I really need to make some money again soon.

Anyway, off to a production meeting,. Here’s hoping.

Enjoy this autumn weekend.

Please leave a reply!

