Block 237: October 24, 2013

IMG_5137

 

I’m back, everyone.

Date: October 24, 2013

Crane: 237

Days Spent on Project: 249 (I feel like I’m getting behind!)

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jacqueline R.

She was one of the other lighting designers I met at the National High School Institute. I can’t remember how many shows we did together, but I must have. They hired two lighting designers each year, we had to have worked together on something, right? She was always incredibly calm about the summer. I never saw her get flustered or overworked, even though I know she would have been working around the clock to get all those designs finished and teach a class.

Eventually, she would move away from Chicago and land out here on the east coast. She’s now in New York City; when she moved here, we met up for drinks at a bar on 26th Street in Chelsea, around the corner from a costume shop that I’ve used for projects in the city.

She now works at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Because of her, I’m doing one of their dance concerts this year.

Music I listened to while sewing: After a week of working in a costume shop, where I had some control over the music (but not much!), I’m wallowing in guilty, guilty pop music right now. And I love it.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, the show in Providence is finished and I had the opportunity to leave a day early, so I took it. The shop manager and our very small crew worked really long hours to get the show caught up and prepared before technical rehearsals. Once things got in the space and a few kinks were worked out, we realized we were in a really good place. I spent the past two days just fussing over small details.

At the risk of gilding the lilies within the show, I was allowed to head home. I now feel like I have an bonus day tomorrow, with nothing to do. That feels great.

And, so here we are. I’ve been working consistently on project after project, double and triple-booking myself at times, for the past several months. Right now, I’m waiting to hear back about the dance concert at Rutgers. I have a performance next week in town that I need to rehearse and be at. And then… well… I need to get more work.

In the meantime, it will be nice to catch up on some sleep, see some friends, get back to setting up that workshop in the spring, visit the gym, and tackling this project daily again. I know I need to start hitting the pavement soon (immediately tomorrow). I need a job that will actually make some money.

I’m proud of the work I did in Rhode Island. It’s nice to work in a supportive environment with people who respect you, want to do a good job, and try to have some fun. It’s nice to feel like you’re a part of a team. I’m feeling much better personally than when I left a week ago.

Here’s hoping some new challenges come along soon.

Thanks for hanging in there.

Now, let’s keep going.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 237: October 24, 2013

Please leave a reply!

